Random USB Disconnects. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2006, 10:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Dave Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Dave Smith
Default Random USB Disconnects.

Odd problem

It affects my iPod and my USB wireless adapter both connected to windows XP via USB2.

Basically I plug in and everything works fine but occasionally windows will unregister and immediately re-register the devices (the double-beep usb sounds in quick succesion)

I imagine the problem has something to do with the power to the USB ports but it is a new problem and it does not affect my USB mouse.

Is there any way to resolve this? My power supply is sufficient but there may be some problem with a connection or something. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

Dave Smith is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Try installing the correct USB2 drivers from your motherboardcd, or download them at www.driverguide.com.
Maybe you could check if your USB ports are good connected with the cables.
__________________

ExitProsecSpree is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Dave Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Dave Smith
Default

I'm on the latest drivers and the USB is integrated on the motherboard (M838A running a Sis 7001 chipset) I unplugged the front USB since I didn't use them anyway (although they were also problematic)
Dave Smith is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Maybe a power problem then, try connecting another power supply only for testing (don't build it in). Maybe another reason could be that the signal gets interrupted by other devices that are touching the usbwiresonboardyourmotherboard (don't know what theyr called). Try updating BIOS else i wouldnt know if that doesnt help either.
ExitProsecSpree is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

"ExitProsecSpree" - is crazy.

1) Mircrosoft owns the right to usb 2.0, thats why you will never find USB 2.0 drivers with motherboard. windows either uses the default windows USB drivers.. or you can download the updated usb driver just by going threw windwos update.

2) this may not affect your problem, but might as well try it... go to /start/run, type "devmgmt.msc", hit enter. go to the USB Controllers at the bottom of list... right click each Hub 1 by 1, go to properties/power managment... uncheck the box to 'allow comp to turn of this device to save power'.

3) dont konw if this still applies but people in the past reported usb problems after switching to SP2. not shur or not but this prob may be fixed by know (i wouldnt know) if so win update would fix it.
jolancer is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Dave Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Dave Smith
Default

No help I'm afraid and I just reformatted so it's not a software thing. Doesn't look like I'll be able to resolve this!
Dave Smith is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i didnt read to the end of ExitProsecSpree's post b4, but yea, like he said, if your bios isnt currently up to date, might as well try updating it.

also if your using a few PCI slots, check your mothebroard manual and see if maybe you should switch witch slots your using... sometimes sertain PCI slots share IRQ's with other onboard devices.
jolancer is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Dave Smith Send a message via Yahoo to Dave Smith
Default

There's no IRQ conflicts reported and I'm not sure how to update the BIOS (it's not something I want to try without properly knowing how!) My motherboard is PC CHIPS M848A and I run an AMD Athlon XP 3000+
Dave Smith is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Just go to the mobo's manufacture site and there should be BIOS updates.
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.