random shutdowns - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2006, 04:09 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default

oh one more thing, to add confusion, I've found that the computer is more likely to stay on for longer if I have the xbox turned on at the same time (?)
__________________

digijin is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:00 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

can you check your windows error report it may be a driver conflict i just had that problem today a quick reformat fixed the problem.:
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:26 AM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

How about changing your power cable?
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 07:37 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default

hi,

its crashed in and out of windows, even once while bios was still starting up, I dont think its drivers or software, its crashed off dos boot cds. I've also done windows updates, updated all drivers and got my friend to update the mobo chipset

and I've tried many combinations of 3 power cables (swapping cables with my monitors) plugged into 3 different surge protected power boards and a UPS, and 4 different power points around the house,

thanks for suggestions but anyone got any more ideas?

James
digijin is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:10 PM   #25 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

gotta be the power supply....
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:16 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default

hey bmx..

yeah im thinkin of swapping round psu's to check, but im scared :S dont know what to plug into where and what not to touch.. can u break stuff with a static charge?

James
digijin is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:47 PM   #27 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, if your not careful. everything plugs into only one place, like mobo conn only connects to the mobo, hdd to hdd etc. when doing it, ground yourself to the case by holding on to a metal part of it for a few seconds, and u should be good
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 09:09 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Default

hi all, another update.

ok, so before I bothered playing with power sources I would try something else, normally if the computer turns off I leave it 10 minutes if not the whole night. So what I think is, if it breaks and doesnt boot at all, I'm actually better off because I actually have something to fix, so as soon as it shutsdown, I press the power button, like as soon as possible, in 1 second if possible.

so the computer complains a bit.. like runs fine when its on but shutsdown heaps.. this lasts a few hours. then it stops shutting down.

and now, I've had maybe 3-4 days of no shutdown at all. it seems like its fixed.

now, I'm not complaining, but what the **** happened? (hoping i dont get anymore shutdowns and it is actually fixed)

James
digijin is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 10:04 AM   #29 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

just sounds to me like the powersupply is not supplying your system with enough power...ive had that problem before
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 01:15 PM   #30 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

i agree
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.