Random restarts. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2009, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Default Random restarts.

Hi, I've recently installed a new graphics card(upgrading my Radeon x1300 to a HD4670).
Since then I seem to be getting random restarts when I run games or try to run DVD's. They start up ok, sometimes running for between a minute and a few hours and then I just get a restart. Never any bluescreen though. I wondered if it might be an inadequate PSU but I've heard other people with similar setups don't have any problems.
I installed the latest drivers yesterday(recent update), but that hasn't solved it. It could possibly be over-heating but I have been running it with the side off for the last week or two and it still restarted(although possibly not as often).

I've also ruled out the DVD drive as some games are run from the HD.
Any thoughts at all? Known system specs below:


OS - Vista 32 bit home premium.
AMD Athlon 64 x2 dual core 5600+ 2.8ghz
4GB ram
2 sata 160gb HD's
HD4670
Dell PSU 305w
Has a pretty basic soundcard.
Don't know the motherboard though.
__________________

lemming3k is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Random restarts.

that is a pretty small PSU you have there...might be causing the problem....also did you clean out the old driver from the Radeon completely before installing the HD?
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Random restarts.

Unfortunately Dell does not put the highest of quality power supplies in their computers.

My first and strongest impression would be the psu.

Could check temps on your cpu but I doubt that is the issue.

edit:
Yes ATI reccomends a 400watt psu to power that card.

400 Watt or greater power supply (550 Watt for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode) is recommended

ATI Radeon™ HD 4600 Series - System Requirements

Pick up a good quality 400 to 450watt psu
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random restarts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ComatoseClown View Post
that is a pretty small PSU you have there...might be causing the problem....also did you clean out the old driver from the Radeon completely before installing the HD?
Yes, I had problems installing it without doing so(even though the instructions that came with it didn't mention doing so).

Quote:
Unfortunately Dell does not put the highest of quality power supplies in their computers.

My first and strongest impression would be the psu.

Could check temps on your cpu but I doubt that is the issue.

edit:
Yes ATI reccomends a 400watt psu to power that card.

400 Watt or greater power supply (550 Watt for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode) is recommended

ATI Radeon™ HD 4600 Series - System Requirements

Pick up a good quality 400 to 450watt psu
Yeh that's what I suspected I've just heard rumours that it works on a 305. Unfortunately the whole system has been quite poor quality. I'm just reluctant to spend out on a new PSU without confirming it as the problem(I have an antec 650 in mind). Is there an easy way of checking the temp of the card? In the ATI catalyst centre it says 40 degrees but I'm not sure if that's an active temp gauge or just an estimate/pretty picture.
lemming3k is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 06:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Random restarts.

40c is a good temp for a gfx card for sure, it is probably pretty accurate pulling the temp off the sensor in the card itself....
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Random restarts.

If you happen to have a friend with a strong enough psu hook it up to your machine. Once it works flawlessly you will have your confirmation.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 09:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random restarts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
If you happen to have a friend with a strong enough psu hook it up to your machine. Once it works flawlessly you will have your confirmation.
I've borrowed one for a few days to test it so hopefully will have some answers soon.
lemming3k is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 10:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: Random restarts.

okay good good...let us know the results ^_^
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 12:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random restarts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ComatoseClown View Post
okay good good...let us know the results ^_^
Sadly now I've taken the side off it seems that despite his PSU being 600w it's rather out of date, no sata connectors(which is fine I have old drives I can use), but more importantly it's only a 20pin motherboard connector, whilst I've heard you can use these in a 24pin motherboard slot I run a PCI E16x card and coupled with my other specs I suspect the motherboard draws too much power to use a 20pin and I run the risk of frying my MB if I use this PSU.

On the up side I can touch the fan cover on my graphics card and it's not hot in the least, I can also see it clearly rotating, so I know it's working and don't think it's an overheating issue.
lemming3k is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 04:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default Re: Random restarts.

I had this problem once and cleaning out the CPU fan set it good.
__________________

Albo23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random Restarts tzvii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-17-2008 02:06 PM
Random and Frequent Restarts with a BSOD Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-01-2008 10:12 AM
Random Restarts Okitasoshi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-02-2007 08:10 PM
XP pro random restarts! Wverb0783 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-26-2007 11:11 PM
Random lock ups and restarts while gaming M@$t3r_N30 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 07-03-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.