Random Reboot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default Random Reboot

I get a random reboot sometimes while just sitting in the desktop but more often during a full screen application such as a game. This is the first PC i've put fully together and it's been about a week now with no problems and it just started today and here's what Microsoft says about my "Serious System Error"

http://wer.microsoft.com/responses/R...4-8f44438b2f50

My temps are fine, CPU Idle 25-27C Full load 35-37C And the case stays in the 28-35C range and my Video card in the 40-50C range

My PSU is pretty new and i've never had problems with it before and it's voltage readings are on target. No OCing has been done

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

AeKarma is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Anyone?
__________________

AeKarma is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

i hate the microsoft errors,, no info at all. Have you reseated all the cards, cables? Test the machine bare bones.. 1 stick of memory and graphics card. If it works fine, slowly add stuff back into to narrow the problem down.... newest drivers?
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 01:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Well I haven't done that yet. But i'll do that as soon as I get home (School right now)

And i've made sure that I have the most recent drivers for everything
AeKarma is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Found out the problem, Used ATI tool to watch the GPU temps during a CS CAL match and when it started to do the freezing it sometimes does during the lock up it was at 81C but that's because i'm running on an old radeon x700 pro that has survived 3 comp lifetimes and had to RMA my 7900 GT KO, Which i'll hopefully get back soon
AeKarma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.