Random Power Off - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2009, 09:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

What i am trying to figure out is why it will happily run in Windows Safe Mode. Even though it is a freshly formatted HD, with Win XP freshly re-installed.
__________________

rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: Random Power Off

BIOS up to date?
__________________

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

BIOS is up to date.
rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

These things are such an annoying trial and error process.

Another thing also, could be a faulty grounding issue? Make sure the motherboard screws are all properly mounted in the stand-offs. Make sure nothing on the mobo might be grounded to the case.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

Any ideas why it will run A.O.K. while in safe mode, but not in regular mode?
rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:39 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

You said you are using XP right?

Go to start > Control Panel > Administration Tools > Event Viewer > System

Check for any errors that resulted just before a power off. Post results if any.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Well there were alot of DCOM errors, but they only said failed to load in safe mode. There was one error saying that C:\ had bad sectors and needed a chkdsk run. but i have run that utility and it came up ok. i cannot copy and paste the logs due to the fact im bouncing between 2 PCs.

When I spoke to support i was told it was probably a mobo issue, but i don't know if i buy that. It seems to me that if that were the case then it would randomly shut off regardless of whether or not it was in "Safe Mode". Opinions?

EDIT: I took the mobo out of the case and did a very close and detailed inspection, after this i have noted that the lovely taiwanese capacitors have...guess what? blown... thank you for the ideas/help, but i have solved the problem.
__________________

rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM
help miano99 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 09-16-2008 08:40 PM
Intel Atom Power Consumption Preliminary Tests maroon1 New Technology and Products 1 04-16-2008 08:59 AM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Random Shut Downs. Ideas And Theories Please Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-28-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.