Random Power Off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2009, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Random Power Off

Hey all,

First i am running...

AMD Athlon 64 x2 dual core 3800+ 2.01Ghz
2GB RAM
e-GeForce 7200 video card
500GB Western Digital HD

The problem that is driving me insane is my computer will power off as though i plug pulled. I have monitered temps (never higher than 38C). Replaced my PSU. Tested my RAM (Good). Reformatted my HD and reinstalled Win XP. Went through my mobo with an eagle eye, and all capacitors seem ok.

Through all this my computer happily turns off whenever it feels like it. The only thing that is of note is that recently i ran windows in safe mode. It has not powered off once. I find that a bit odd, and perhaps it is a software issue, and not hardware. Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

So when you say power off you mean, "PC goes off and doesn't come back on." You have to press the power button for it to start again? Just want to make sure we are on the same page here.

It's not crashing and restarting? Or blue screening?

How are you monitoring your CPU temps?

The most common causes of that issue are thermal protection of a CPU, "Overheating" and Faulty PSU. - Hardware side
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

Correct. It is as if i had unplugged it.
rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

How are you monitoring the CPU temps?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

I had an external temperature gauge, as well as running Everest. Key word being had as it is now powered down and awaiting my hammer of wrath.
rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

Is your PC power supply plugged into a "power Strip" or "wall outlet"?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

I have alternated between the two. To no avail. i have also connected a multi meter to the molex, and the outlet checking for voltage drops. There were none. Also i just bought a brand new PSU. which i have not tested. This is possibly the strangest thing i have come across, I am completely stumped and can think of nothing else to test.
rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

Wait you bought a PSU and have not tested it? Meaning right now you are still using the old one?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Random Power Off

No i have connected the new one, i just have not plugged my meter into it to moniter the DC output. I did not feel it was necessary.
rhetoricalcynic is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 09:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: Random Power Off

Ok. What type of case do you have?

Here's something that you might want to try. Locate the Power switch connector on the motherboard. As you might know this is connected to the power button on the case. POWER UP the PC and let it boot to windows. (Side panel off) Carefully pull off the power switch connector to the motherboard and let it run and see if it powers down again.

Might be a faulty power switch.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM
help miano99 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 09-16-2008 08:40 PM
Intel Atom Power Consumption Preliminary Tests maroon1 New Technology and Products 1 04-16-2008 08:59 AM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Random Shut Downs. Ideas And Theories Please Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-28-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.