Random Monitor Sleep / Reboot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2014, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Random Monitor Sleep / Reboot

Hello,

Ever since yesterday my computer monitors have been losing signal (going to sleep) and sometimes the computer reboots.

This happens about once every hour or so. So if the monitors go to sleep 10x...6 of those times the computer will reboot as well. The other times (when the monitors ONLY go to sleep), it can not be woken up or anything.

This happens no matter what is going on. I am actively using it (keyboard strokes, mouse movement, etc) then *poof* monitors go out. I am forced to reboot it by the power button to do anything more.

Nothing has been changed on here (hardware or software), and prior to yesterday everything been just fine.

I am sure this can be a number of issues, and im just hoping someone might be able to point me on where to look / where to start looking.

The specs to the machine are below:

Windows 7 Ultimate
2 HDD (1TB each)
Intel Core i7 950
GTS 450 GPU
Corsair 850W Power Supply
12 GB Corsair Dominator Memory
P6X58D Premium M/B
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler
2 Monitors (1 HDMI / 1 DVI)

Let me know what additional info would be needed or steps to take..

Thanks,

Mike
__________________

Mimoss03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Hunky524's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7
Default Re: Random Monitor Sleep / Reboot

Just incase you haven't already backup all your important stuff on a thumb drive or anything just as a precaution, because then you are able to mess around as much as you like without fear (more or less). I do have one question are the two HDDs you have in any sort of RAID configuration? As for your problem it doesn't seem like a monitor issue as your computer keeps shutting down to. To start make sure you have the latest Chipset, USB, and Audio drivers etc for the motherboard as well as all up to date drivers for your GPU and any other devices on your system. After, try booting your system in Safe Mode to see if a buggy driver might be the issue, if the computer still has the same problem in Safe Mode then it is probably a hardware issue and will take time to get to figure out as I can't see why the parts in your system would do this unless one of them is faulty. But, try the drivers and Safe Mode first and see where that gets you.
__________________

Hunky524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Random Monitor Sleep / Reboot

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

No, no RAID config for the drives. Just 2 SATA drives each on their own power feed.

I will check my drivers and the safe mode and get back to you...
Also, Just to be sure yesterday i checked the temp...

Overall Internal Temp runs around 26-32C
CPU Temp: 34-43C
GPU Temp: 36-40C

I believe that is all ok for normal use/idle (this was not while things where under heavy load)

Thanks,

Mike
Mimoss03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Hunky524's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7
Default Re: Random Monitor Sleep / Reboot

Those temps are definitely fine. When booting in safe mode your display may looked very weird because safe mode doesn't load graphic drivers and safe mode also doesn't run any absolutely non essential startup programs just the core basic drivers. Just mess around in your computer in safe mode for a while and see if the problem continues.
Hunky524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 02:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Random Monitor Sleep / Reboot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mimoss03 View Post
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

No, no RAID config for the drives. Just 2 SATA drives each on their own power feed.

I will check my drivers and the safe mode and get back to you...
Also, Just to be sure yesterday i checked the temp...

Overall Internal Temp runs around 26-32C
CPU Temp: 34-43C
GPU Temp: 36-40C

I believe that is all ok for normal use/idle (this was not while things where under heavy load)

Thanks,

Mike
Idle temps are fine, but you'd want to show temps under load as well.

Agreed with Hunky though; try Safe Mode out and see if you still have issues.

If Safe Mode works, then try Safe Mode with Networking and see if the issue crops up there or not.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
if a close my laptop cover with sleep mode disabled, will it still goto sleep? Sweetness94 Laptops and Notebooks 3 05-07-2011 09:34 AM
Block Sleep And Hybrid-Sleep Mode In Windows 7 And Vista Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-04-2010 09:08 PM
Reboot Into Windows/Reboot Into Linux icons CalcProgrammer1 Linux and Open Source 0 10-22-2008 07:27 PM
AMD 64 3200+ random reboot gossen19 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-06-2005 12:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.