Random Memory Errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2011, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Random Memory Errors

The computer in question was/has been crashing during gaming and internet browsing if I remember correctly (its been a while since I actually used it). I decided to try and find out what is wrong with it now and put it to good use. At first I ran memtest86 on all 4 sticks of ram. I came back after a few hours and found a lot of red errors. So I started trying to narrow it down to which stick of ram was bad. I ran each ram separately for about an hour and no errors came back. I then took a stick of ram and ran each socket for an hour...still no errors.... I decided to run the 4 sticks again...this time, no errors. If I recall correctly I tried this the first time that the computer started acting up and had the same results...first memtest comes back with errors but the following memtests show nothing. What could be happening here?

Specs: Core 2 Quad 6600, 4gb ddr2, 500gb hd, 8800gt gfx, evga 780i mobo

Any ideas?

P.S. Silly me, more detailed specs in sig

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

How long did you run each stick? it takes a couple loops until it finds an error.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

Ran them for about an hour, I know a good test runs them for 24...but the first time errors came up (with all 4 sticks) it was after only approximately an hour.
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

I'd wait at least 2-3 hours on each stick. Could be anything.. Or just run em overnight.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 03:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

Put all 4 sticks back in and have left it running for 7 hours so far (letting it go overnight as well). No errors yet....This is strange b/c it had only been running an hour or maybe a bit more when it got tons of errors (all 4 sticks). Could it be some kind of flexing on the motherboard or something....?
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 08:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

might of just been one of the sticks wasn't seated all the way
__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

Normally I would agree, but i'm pretty sure that this has happened before (the main reason that I stopped using the computer in the first place). It seems to happen after I have let the computer sit unused for a while and then tested. Once I start all the testing, the problem disappears....
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

It sounds like it could be a problem with the memory controller, which is a part of your motherboard. And the 780i was known to run hot and when it does the memory controller is affected.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

Any specific way to test for this, I was thinking it was something motherboard related....although I was telling myself that evga was a good company making good boards....?
__________________
Core-i7 930
Asus P6X58D Premium
6gb Mushkin DDR3
EVGA GTX 480
OCZ-Vertex SSD
------------------------------
Q6600 (G0) @ Stock
Nvidia 8800GT x2 SLI @ Stock
4GB DDR2-PC6400 @ Stock
500GB Sata + 1TB
Evga 780i
masteroc is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 07:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Random Memory Errors

EVGA does make good mobo's, it's really an issue with the Nvidia 780i chipset itself. I had a EVGA 780i mobo a few years ago but I can't remember what I was using to monitor the temps. I would think HWMonitor would work, HWMonitor v1.17
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Errors Captain Murphy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-25-2009 03:02 AM
memory errors Nagasama Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 01-11-2009 12:22 PM
HighJackThis log/recieving random errors OTHG_ChefTreb HijackThis Logs (finished) 16 05-11-2008 11:08 AM
problem w/ random reboots w/ errors OTHG_ChefTreb Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-08-2008 01:00 PM
This one's a doozy (0xc0000005 random errors) Name Lips Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-09-2006 07:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.