Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2010, 10:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

Didn't know vista came with a memory tool such as that built in , guess I gotta dig up some more lol.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 08-12-2010, 10:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

It's just like Window's format, it does poorly. Use Memtest. Please?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 05:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Italianblend
Thanks for any help you can give. What other info do you need?
What power supply do you have in your computer? The 9800 GTx requires a 450W PSU. The HP site does not list the PSU for your model, but I would guess it is a 300W or less.

Since it is freezing in games when the card is demanding more power, that would be the very first thing to check. Period.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 06:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you all for taking the time to respond!

I just did the windows memory thingy and it didn't detect any problems. I don't have a CD handy but I have a flash drive, so I'll do the memtest today.

Also, when I bought the graphics card, I did upgrade the power supple, I think to 650w.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
What MoM said above ^. I would go with the "zip" as windows can extract it without the need for any 3rd party software. Extract the ISO file, then use any burning software to burn the ISO to a CD. If you're not sure or familiar with burning ISO files, reply saying otherwise you know what to do .

Sorry MoM, just thought I'd clear you response just in case he chose the gz and didn't know how to extract.
So...I'm sorry to be annoying...but I have the ISO file on my flash drive, so do I execute it from windows? I've never done ISO files. Thanks!
Italianblend is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 07:24 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

Ah, right. I'm guessing you just copied the ISO file over to the USB flash drive? Yeah, that doesn't work :P You need to 'burn' the ISO in the same way that you would burn files to a CD or DVD.
I use the program Unetbootin for this.

Once you've installed it, select the Disk Image option, and navigate to the ISO file you downloaded. Then, select the USB Drive option, then enter the drive letter of your USB flash drive. Then click ok

Once it's done its stuff, you need to reboot and boot from the USB drive - you will probably need to press F12 (or possibly a different key) not long after you turn on the system to bring up the boot menu, which lets you choose what to boot from. Choose USB, if it gives you the choice.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

Okay, you guys are going to hate me =)

I did exactly as you said, and it was working, the program did write the boot thingy to the flash drive and prompted me to reboot. I did, and found the boot menu, and found the USB device in the boot menu. All was going well. Then I got a screen that said Default boot and it had a countdown for 10 seconds. After it counted down, the counter just repeated...again and again. I tried pressing enter but the countdown just restarted. What is happening here? And thanks so much for taking the time to help me, I really appreciate it.
Italianblend is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 12:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

Hm, looks like it isn't going to work via USB then. Are you able to burn it to a CD?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Yes, I"ll have to snag a CD from work next week. I'm going to try reformatting the usb drive. Thanks!

I think it has to do with the u3 stuff on the USB drive. I thought the format would take care of that... guess I was wrong...
Italianblend is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 03:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

No you need to remove U3 a different way. A format does not take it off the Thumb Drive.

How to Remove U3 From a Cruzer Micro Drive | eHow.com
Elegant Code Removing U3 from Your Thumb Drives

Either of those will work.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 07:22 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: Random game freezes for 2 years =) can anyone help?

Okay! I am in business... I found a CD in my house and it worked. It's running now...I'm not sure if it's done or not. At the bottom it says "Pass Complete, No Errors, Press ESC to quit," but the test is still scanning. So I'm not sure if I should stop it or not...?
__________________

Italianblend is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This makes me angry. overlord20 PC Gaming 36 11-04-2009 04:57 PM
my God do PC's beat consoles! Joeyboy General Gaming 37 08-10-2009 11:39 PM
game freezes/crashes after while..HELP!!! jshepherd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 05-26-2009 03:03 AM
Super Bubsy (Please read!!! I want this game so badly) :( advancedgeek General Gaming 5 05-16-2007 12:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.