Random CPU spikes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default Random CPU spikes

Been having this issue for a while and it's been annoying me to no extent as of late



One of my cores always spikes to 100% load every few days or so for a few minutes before backing off again and returning to normal...this issue is strange because as you can see it actually adjusts accordingly when the other core which is actually running processes starts to get under load

I have installed the hotfix and the drivers and made the appropriate registry edits as this reminds me very much of the processor speed up/slow down issue yet the issue has not been resolved...I have of course scanned for any garbage on the computer and found nothing

I am honestly thinking this is just a bug and windows doesn't respond well to multiple physical cores since task manager claims my CPU is at about 84% idle yet it clearly shows it's at 50% workload...I wanna know if anyone with any other multicore CPUs suffers from this issue as I'm fed up with it
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well, as we've chatted about it, I'll let you know sometime this week whenever that opty 165 gets here.

Zipzoomfly says it's 'packed' .....bah! Was hoping it'd be shipped today. Slackers! So I probably wont get it until thursday assuming they ship it tomorrow and it's Fedex 2 day and all.

Oh well...got another present that should be coming in the mail tomorrow Muahahahah.

Anywho, I'm hoping I can get that thing before the LAN so I can OC the crap out of it and have it ready for some fraggin.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

well I did a bit of searching around and found one other person who has the same issue but of course no one had a logical answer and were simply replying with BS about the core was overheating and crap that was no help at all

AND even now my core is back down to normal so I have no idea what would cause it to act up so much...I guess I'll have to make a freaking early upgrade to vista but I'm gonna reformat tomorow and hopefully that fixes whatever problem there may be

I'm interested in seeing what type of stepping you get...I haven't heard much after week50 mind you I haven't really looked into it but I'm going with a 99.9% chance you won't get a dud...these opterons are weird, they aren't getting worse at overclocking at all like the venices
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

As I said, if it DOES.......I will MURDER someone.......someone innocent and undeserving of MURDER

Just like there was a GREAT chance of my venice overclocking high since it was fairly early, only week 18, yet it wouldn't go very high....BAH....I want my 2.8GHz that I originally wanted! Of course even 2.6GHz would be like an FX-60 and all so that's nothing to scough at.

I'm hoping maybe.....MAYBE zipzoomfly still has some earlier models in stock because I don't think they get quite as much business as newegg does, but I could be wrong.

I hope I don't get any weird problems, because I want to prevent going to vista for as long as possible.

BTW: What Vcore and extra VID are you running at to get the speeds you're getting.....you said 2.6GHz right?
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I have it 2.65Ghz 1.5v + 104% which comes out to about 1.5v in CPU-Z...after that core1 kinda kick outs and I gave up after that buuutt once I get this new ram from my friend I'm gonna try and bench at 3GHz with a nice high HTT
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You say core1 kicks out and you think this new RAM will allow you to jump from 2.65 up to 3GHz!? That's a pretty big leap dude.

For this venice I'm using 1.45v + 113% resulting in like.....1.584 or so says CPU-Z....it's running 2.565GHz and RAM at DDR466 like I told ya before...it's giving me a P-Rating of 4048+ though, so that's better than before when I had 3800+

Does suck it'll only have a 9x multi though. You'll need to run your HTT at 333 and that'll give you 2.997GHz, if you go above that you'll need to put the HTT Multi down at 2x lol. So yeah your HTT (and mine assuming it can overclock well) will have to be pretty dang high in order to run.

I'm pondering whether I should try moving my RAM to the yellow slots and seeing if that'll fix the whole Cas latency issue, but I think my water tubing coming from the radiator might be in the way.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 08:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

no I don't mean I expect ram to improve the core ceiling but I'm pretty sure with some tweaking I can get in 3GHz benchmark stable...but there's no point in me trying thta considering in a few days I'll have better ram that I can bench with it with a HTT for some higher scores

Seems no one has any answers?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 01:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I assume from no answers, no one has the problems....

FedEX Says my package will be here tomorrow So hopefully I can get that thing installed and cranking away and let you know sometime in the evening my time, how everything is going.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 06:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Random CPU spikes

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara

I am honestly thinking this is just a bug and windows doesn't respond well to multiple physical cores since task manager claims my CPU is at about 84% idle yet it clearly shows it's at 50% workload...I wanna know if anyone with any other multicore CPUs suffers from this issue as I'm fed up with it
well, 52% is the average between the two cores. one core may well be at 84%, but the 52% is taking the other core into account (which is much lower)
joshd is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Er no...you don't seem to understand

One of my cores occasionally spikes to 100% usage, but since task manager takes into both cores it says my overall CPU usage is only at 50% consider core0 is still idle...yet task manager doesn't seem to show any processes taking up that much CPU power, and I was showing that point by showing that it's reading that my CPU is 84% idle
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.