RAM wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2007, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default RAM wont boot

hey.

i bought some new RAM for my PC. installed it and it doesnt seem to work, all i get is a blank screen and everything is powered but it wont boot anything not even start up. thats in the first RAM slot

in the other 2, all i get is beep beep you have no RAM installed.

the ram type is DDR PC2700A 333mhz

installed already i have 1 stick of 512 at DDR PC2700 333mhz but obviously no A on the end. i bought the 1 gig stick as PC2700 not PC2700A, so i left a forum post on my mobo manufacturers website, Asus, who the **** knows if they'll get back to me.

any ideas?
__________________

Sheepykins is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM wont boot

Looks like the one you just bought is faulty.

Can you please describe the beep codes? And what motherboard is it, that you have? If you don't know, download CPU-Z, go to the mainboard tab, and report back the motherboard model and manufacturer. Or the BIOS brand.

Oh and...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM wont boot

the motherboard is the

Asus A7V8X-X.

beep code was like a longish beep over and over again.

Bios brand

Award Software inc.
version: asus A7V8X-X ACPI bios revision 1013
date (i guess when it was updated) 09/02/2004
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM wont boot

Thanks.

It's a RAM error. Most likely you got a bad stick. Try re-seating the new stick you just bought, in different slots.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM wont boot

yeh it works in the first slot. well i say works. nothing happens, blank screen no boot.

in the other two just beeps all the time. not the first one though just the other two. thanks anyway
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM wont boot

someone said something about updating my bios or flashing it, would this might also work?
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: RAM wont boot

It might. Just be careful when you flash the BIOS, and do it at your own risk.

But if the stick really is faulty, flashing the BIOS won't help.

So you say it doesn't beep in the first slot, but still nothing shows up on the screen? I would just return that stick for a replacement.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM wont boot

thanks dude rma number confirmewd, will replace it tomorrow with a couple of 512 sticks.
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 05:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM wont boot

hey thanks for all the help b1gapl

i sent it back and they tested it as faulty, i got my money back minus the delivery fees for them to send it to me, which was balls but hey item price is good enough so im only a few pounds out.
__________________

Sheepykins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Computer won't boot + RAM question. charlesviper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-06-2007 04:59 AM
Xp wont boot after ram upgrade quantafac Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-13-2007 09:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.