RAM Trouble and power problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2012, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 16
Default RAM Trouble and power problems

Okay so heres the problem i have 4GB DDR2 installed in my machine and windows 7 64bit says that only (3.75 GB Usable), but in the system information it says that there is 4GB installed i have checked sysconfig to mkae sure that there is no limit set and there isnt and i have checked in my BIOS aswell to make sure that nothing has been changed but everything seems to be fine, yes i have considerd that one of my RAM stick may be on its last legs being DDR2 and almost as old as my nan LOL.

and the next one has got me really confused as my pc is being very tempremental it will either power on and do sod all and wont power off, or it just wont power on
i have checked to make sure that all the power leads are connected right and that nothing has come loosed or overheated its really starting to drive me bonkers,


Any help would be appreciated
__________________

foREVer616uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RAM Trouble and power problems

You have 3.75 available most likely because you have integrated video that uses up that 25Mb of RAM.

See if resetting BIOS will help with the power problem.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 07:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: RAM Trouble and power problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by foREVer616uk View Post
i have checked to make sure that all the power leads are connected right and that nothing has come loosed or overheated its really starting to drive me bonkers,
Any help would be appreciated
Check the power on sleep mode settings in windows and in your bios, seems like the pc is configured to be set by alarm to wake up and turn itself off.
What kind of computer/mobo you got, it will give us the info needed, to tell you how to set it accordingly.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 16
Default Re: RAM Trouble and power problems

ive checked the thye bios and everything is fine i have tried reseting the bios and still the ram problem persists,

the mo/bo is a saphire PE-AM2RS690V2 - PURE Element 690V and the cpu is an AMD Phenom 9600B x4

the power problems seem to be getting worse as now when i click shut down windows does the usuall and the pc stays powerd on there is no
display or anything just stays on

GAH!! pc's are frustraiting!!
foREVer616uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 10:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: RAM Trouble and power problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by foREVer616uk View Post
ive checked the thye bios and everything is fine i have tried reseting the bios and still the ram problem persists,

the mo/bo is a saphire PE-AM2RS690V2 - PURE Element 690V and the cpu is an AMD Phenom 9600B x4
Which RAM problem? The one that MoM already suggested was because of an integrated GPU? It even says on the specification page for your board it has an integrated GPU:
"With embedded ATI RadeonR X1200 graphics ..."
Sapphire Technology Web Site

Do you have a graphics card in one of the PCI slots, or are you just plugging the monitor into the back of the motherboard on the rear I/O ports?

Quote:
the power problems seem to be getting worse as now when i click shut down windows does the usuall and the pc stays powerd on there is no
display or anything just stays on

GAH!! pc's are frustraiting!!
Try running a chkdsk. Open command prompt as administrator (Start >type cmd > right click > run as admin) > type in: chkdsk c: /f /r

It will say something about cannot lock drive and to schedule it on next reboot. Type in Y and hit Enter. Reboot the computer. It should go through 5 stages which could take a while to do.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 16
Default Re: RAM Trouble and power problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Which RAM problem? The one that MoM already suggested was because of an integrated GPU? It even says on the specification page for your board it has an integrated GPU:
"With embedded ATI RadeonR X1200 graphics ..."
Sapphire Technology Web Site

Do you have a graphics card in one of the PCI slots, or are you just plugging the monitor into the back of the motherboard on the rear I/O ports?


Try running a chkdsk. Open command prompt as administrator (Start >type cmd > right click > run as admin) > type in: chkdsk c: /f /r

It will say something about cannot lock drive and to schedule it on next reboot. Type in Y and hit Enter. Reboot the computer. It should go through 5 stages which could take a while to do.
i managed to sort it all the ram problem seemed to be caused by surroundveiw i turned that off and the problem seems to have stoped and the power problems was caused because i had WoL enabled and when i disabled it in the bios it kept reactivating so i flashed the bios and installed the update on the sapphir website thats for all the help everyone
__________________

foREVer616uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Pavilion power/speaker trouble Stelly77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-07-2011 10:30 PM
laptop trouble no power carlege Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-21-2006 11:05 PM
power trouble adamL Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-06-2006 10:38 PM
power switch or smps trouble ? stardust12 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-31-2006 08:03 PM
power trouble matejakezman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-19-2005 05:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.