RAM Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 56
Default RAM Question

Hi all, I have an Asus P5N32-E SLi motherboard, i fitted 2x1gb of ram to DIMM A1, and DIMM B1, in my system info it says i have 2gb ram no problem. I've just bought another 2x1gb of the same ram and put it in DIMM A2 and DIMM B2, but when i check my total ram the system reports only 3.25gb, any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case, Asus P5N32-E SLi nForce 680, Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz, BFG GeForce 768MB 8800GTX OC2 626MHz, Thermaltake ToughPower 850W Modular, Corsair 3.25GB DDR2, Creative Labs Soundblaster Audigy 4, Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB, NEC ND-3500A DVD Writer 16x/4x, Windows XP Home SP2
Fishy is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: RAM Question

You are using a 32-bit operating system so not all the RAM can be recognized.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 03:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: RAM Question

Time to upgrade to Vista Home Premium 64 bit!
900RR is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 03:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 56
Default Re: RAM Question

Thanks guys!!!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case, Asus P5N32-E SLi nForce 680, Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz, BFG GeForce 768MB 8800GTX OC2 626MHz, Thermaltake ToughPower 850W Modular, Corsair 3.25GB DDR2, Creative Labs Soundblaster Audigy 4, Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB, NEC ND-3500A DVD Writer 16x/4x, Windows XP Home SP2
Fishy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question!!! tariqadkhan Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-07-2008 09:22 AM
RAM Question Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-02-2007 05:21 AM
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM
Ram Compatibility question turnip System Upgrades 4 09-15-2007 12:13 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.