Ram question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2007, 06:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Question Ram question?

I have my Ram sticks place in this method. X X O O. "X" means ram sticks as "O" means empty slots. I read on some guide that I should place them in this method. X O X O. Since I have dual core is that the right thing to do? Will Vista run better of I change them up?
__________________

__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Ram question?

It depends on the motherboard. Read the manual to see the correct way of putting them in.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Ram question?

Most motherboards are xoxo but some are xxoo in order to run dual channel. It should be in the motherboard manual.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: Ram question?

colour coding of the slots often gives it away too, you want to match up the colours - so if you have 2 slots in one colour and 2 in another you want your 2 sticks both in the same colour slots.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Red face Re: Ram question?

Yeah your right its X X O O, gosh, those guides will mess you up if you don't pay attention.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default Re: Ram question?

just buy 4 GB and go X X X X then you wont have a problem lol
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ivan chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Ram question?

it all depends on your mobo and btw windows vista peaks its ram usage and starts to slow down because it has to process all of that extra memory after 4 gigs so dont buy more than that and the person above is right it usually is color coated
ivan chaos is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 04:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dio1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 205
Default Re: Ram question?

Thanks guys, they were color coded. But, deciding to go ahead and install XP instead until SP1 comes out to fix Vista.
__________________
Capitol-College '2014
M.S. in Information Assurance
North Carolina A&T State University '2011
B.S. in Computer Science
Dio1080 is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ivan chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Ram question?

ok just remember dont buy more than 3 gigs of ram for xp unless you get 64 bit edition it starts to slow down with three gigs. of ram(windowx xp)
__________________

ivan chaos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Speaker Question pukgandi Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 04-14-2007 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.