RAM Problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2008, 03:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: RAM Problems

Thanks Mak213, your topic on 32 vs. 64 is being very helpful. I actually went to this topic after posting this. Will I be able to do the reinstall without harming other programs, or will it have to be a completly fresh install?
__________________

carlito6904 is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 04:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: RAM Problems

Install what? Vista 64? You would probably be better served to back up all your data, create a 50ish gig partition for windows then install on that, so i fyou ever have to reinstall you only have to format the windows partition to get a clean install.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 04:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: RAM Problems

You can not upgrade from 32 Bit to 64 Bit at all. There is no way to do it. You will not be able to keep your stuff at all. Back it up and install 64 Bit. If you install 64 Bit on 32 Bit you only waste time and space.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 08:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: RAM Problems

What about partioning a part of one of my hard drives
carlito6904 is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 10:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: RAM Problems

Yes if you partition yoru drive you can then dual boot between 32 Bit and 64 Bit.

But your issue will come in after you transfer all your stuff over you will want to get rid of 32 Bit and then combine the drives right?

That will cause issues.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: RAM Problems

and what about installing it on another one of my harddrives?
carlito6904 is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: RAM Problems

If you install 64 Bit on another hard drive then i can help you clean up the 32 Bit and get that drive as a storage drive and keep the system booting no problem.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-14-2008, 12:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: RAM Problems

Sorry Mak213 for the delayed reply, my 16-year-old son came to live with me this week so my life has been completely turned upside down.

My next question is XP64 or Vista? When I built my computer I made sure everything was Vista capable, but with all of the problems is it worth it?

With XP64, where could I locate that?
carlito6904 is offline  
Old 06-14-2008, 01:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: RAM Problems

Hey, i can understand.

I would seriously suggest Vista for 64 Bit since more things are Vista 64 Bit compatible than XP X64.

As to where to get it that would all depend on your area. Guessing from what i can tell by your details you are in the USA. Can use NewEgg or TigerDirect.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-14-2008, 07:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: RAM Problems

Thanks Mak. When I do get the software, would you be willing to help with the partitioning and converting?

Thanks and have a great day!
__________________

carlito6904 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
RAM wont boot Sheepykins Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 01-09-2008 05:59 AM
RAM trouble Spud5437 System Upgrades 2 09-30-2007 04:11 PM
Problem with MB and/or RAM? vpx_rodder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-24-2007 11:50 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.