RAM Problem (i think) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2011, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default RAM Problem (i think)

Hey i have this problem with my acer. Its a 2007 gaming computer, and it has 4gigs of ram. (4x 1gig ram pieces). So, i took all them out, checked them out and placed them back in. After that when i started my computer, the power would go on, but it wouldnt connect to anything, as in, it woudnt connect to my mouse, keyboard, screen etc.. Also on the "on button", where I turn my computer on glows a blue light when the computer is running, now when i turn it on theres no light. We did this same thing with my friend yesterday on his computer, the same thing happened when we added a new 512mb of ram, but when we took the ram away, it worked again. But for me, i still have the ram as i used to, and i still have the same problem! Help meh! THX

Oh and my computer is acer aspire m3200
__________________

Closedgate is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Default Re: RAM Problem (i think)

An issue with ram would not cause this, This is most likely a problem with your motherboard.

Does your computer post normally? do you hear the fans start up. do the internal components work? Does your hdd spin up, does the cd drive open?

Best guess is that a power surge fried your motherboard (check for discoloration on the board). If you can switch out the board with a new one would be the easier way to test this.
__________________

Arduwyn is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Problem (i think)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arduwyn View Post
An issue with ram would not cause this, This is most likely a problem with your motherboard.

Does your computer post normally? do you hear the fans start up. do the internal components work? Does your hdd spin up, does the cd drive open?

Best guess is that a power surge fried your motherboard (check for discoloration on the board). If you can switch out the board with a new one would be the easier way to test this.
To be honest, i dont know what "Does your computer post normally?" means. And yes, the fans start up and they work. I have no idea what an internal component is. Also, whats a hdd? And yes my cd drive opens. And i hope that the power surge didnt fry my motherboard, but it is possible. (whats a discoloration?) But thanks anyway

And also, i dont even know what the motherboard looks like. As you may see, i don't know a lot about computers, but i do know the basics about whats inside the computer. I know what a graphics card is and i know where its located etc.. i know some stuff, but most i have no idea about.
Closedgate is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Default Re: RAM Problem (i think)

The motherboard is the main board of the computer, Everything connects to it. Graphics card plugs into, CPU, Ram. It's also what your mouse kbd, and monitor connect to.

If you're not sure what a motherboard is then you probably shouldn't try to replace it yourself. If you have a tech friend that would be good. if nothing else you can take it in to get serviced.
Arduwyn is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM Problem (i think)

Ok thx for your help
Closedgate is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: RAM Problem (i think)

Why did you remove the RAM in the first place?

Did you unplug the computer from the wall BEFORE pulling or reinserting the RAM?

Did you observe necessary ESD precautions BEFORE reaching in the computer and BEFORE touching any RAM?
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 01:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 84
Default Re: RAM Problem (i think)

You might wanna clear the cmos and see if that works, like above said did you follow the precautions because they may have been chance that the
RAM may have be been damaged
__________________

Delta789 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite A205-S5804 Power problem issue anyone had this problem? Jouzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-28-2011 09:58 PM
Problem with ASUS Modem Router, ADSL Cable problem GRANTA Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-06-2010 05:45 AM
windowns reinstall-video card problem-ram problem fidelitycrisis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-02-2006 05:25 PM
Problem loading on dark age of camelot...maybe a ram problem? LightingBird PC Gaming 0 03-08-2005 11:49 AM
Hard drive problem? or cable problem? untruehero Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-18-2004 08:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.