Ram Problem. Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2006, 12:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default Ram Problem. Help!

Alright i have an ABIT VA-10 motherboard
an AMD XP 2400+ processor

I have 256mb of ram in the motherboard right now. I bought 512 of the exact kind of ram (ddr 333 pc 2700) which is supposed to be completley compatible.


whenever i put the ram in it gets to a screen that says something about IDE drives or other...and then it doesnt go any further. and if i try to enter BIOS with the ram in their it goes to a blank black screen



help me please
__________________

fidelitycrisis is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 01:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Try to just use the 512 stick and if it still wont work it probably a bad stick of ram.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Default

nope



i tried that, and ive used three different pieces of ram, all that are supposed to be compatible and it still doesnt work
fidelitycrisis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.