Ram Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2006, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to groovelite
Default Ram Problem

I have:
Athlon 3700+ on San Diego
Biostar TForce4U
3 Gigs of Ram (2x512mb Geil, 2x1Gig G.Skill)
Radeon x850xt
Windows XP Pro

My problem is that, while all of my ram sticks are good, windows shows there is only 2.5 gigs, cpu-cool shows 2 gigs, and cpu-Z properly identifies all three. Is there a known problem with Windows not identifying certain amounts of RAM? They are set in channels to run in dual mode, identical sticks, but is it even possible to run dual with 2 512's in one channel and 2 1024's in the other? And finally, if windows isnt recognizing the last stick of 512, is my machine taking advantage of it?

Any help is appreciated thanks.

groovelite is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38

some motherboards can't do 3 slots of ram, so go check your manual, also your current setting would make your system doing single channel.

wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 06:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,246
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07

how many slots do you have?

if four, put the gig sticks in dual channel
and the 512's

CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to groovelite

My motherboard has 4 slots supporting dual channel, room for 4 gigs. My 512's are in dual mode and so are my 1024's, that is, they are both in the same slot as their respective match. Everything is set up right, it has to be a software side issue. Like I said, CPU-Z reads them all right, but Windows will only read 2.5, and CPU-COOL will only read 2.
groovelite is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 794
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m

contact your MOBO support there might be a compatibility issue with th mobo and type(brand)of ram you using
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.