Ram problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2005, 05:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default Ram problem

My friend is trying to install some ram in his Dell Dimension 8250, he is trying to add 512MB, and when he boots up it beeps, and there is a black screen...any ideas what could be wrong ?
__________________

__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

hey what kind of ram did you get? I looked on crucial.com and they said "No products are currently available for the system you selected. Your system may require proprietary or non-standard parts" Does the computer work when you take the ram out? does it have 400 or 533 fsb? Looks like you may have to order ram upgrade from Hell.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

Its an Elpida 512MB/16d ECC ram chip with a dell sticker over it..as for the front bus speed...i dont know, its just a ram upgrade, i think it has two sticks in it, and two dummy sticks, i remember reading about that some rams slots need to be completely filled for the ram to work.
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

I believe the system you are talking about has dual channel ram meaning you need to put 2 matching sticks of ram in. Are you putting in 2 or just 1.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the system will boot with 1 stick in, it doesnt "HAVE" to boot in dual channel. dual channel is just there.

are you putting the right type of ram in there. pc3200 it could be DDR2 too.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't know **** about Dell, are you sure it needs ECC RAM?

A system that supports dual-channel does not need to run it's RAM in dual channel, so 1 stick should work fine.

EDIT: PZEROFGH, you post too fast.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

as far as I know, if you want to put more RAM in a dell machine, then you need to contact dell, as they purposely make it so you can't just go and buy any RAM you want and add it to the machine
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.