Ram Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to raj_1024
Default Ram Problem

to Everyone in this forum....
I have a pecular problem in my Laptop Compaq Presario B1950 TU Runnig on Windows Vista, the problem is that i have upgraded my existing ram of 512mb to a single 2 gb, after installing the new ram and removing my existing one (512) my system is not booting up atall. but when i place the 2gb ram with my existing one 512 mb its booting and detecting only the 2gb but not the 512. i am not understading what's is the problem....
Please help me to solve the problem

hi everybody
raj_1024 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: Ram Problem

try 2 1Gb sticks

and have you tryed the 2gb stick in a different slot?

AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 69
Default Re: Ram Problem

Yeah try changing slots. also if its lil dusty you should clean it
the0wner is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 03:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Ram Problem

From the problem you are explaining it sounds like your laptops max is only 2GB. Installing a single 2GB stick will create problems as you have already realized. You can work away on it if the max is only 2GB, i would verify this by checking diff memory scanners available out there. Try RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, flash cards, SSD at Crucial.com the scans will pinpoint what your max memory is.
JimBim is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 72
Send a message via Yahoo to raj_1024
Default Re: Ram Problem

No the max my laptop supports is 4 gb i have tried changing the slots........ but was no use... same problem
hi everybody
raj_1024 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Upgrade LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 4 05-13-2009 05:44 AM
Hard to diagnose internet problem theorigamist Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 02-17-2009 11:32 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 08:43 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 04:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 11:59 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.