RAM only recognized sometimes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2011, 03:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 22
Default RAM only recognized sometimes

Hello,

I have an
i7-2600 sandybridge
asus p8p67 motherboard
8gb (4x2GB) kingston ddr3 ram dual channel
corsair gs800
zotac gts250
creative x-fi xtremegamer
windows 7 ultimate

my problem is that my ram which is 8gb ddr3 is sometimes only recognized at 4gb. sometimes it will boot up and show all 8gb but most of the time it will be 4

I'm not changing anything in bios or anything and i dont know why this is happening please help!!
__________________

bvuong is offline  
Old 01-15-2011, 07:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

Are you running a 64-bit version of windows?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 01-15-2011, 10:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

Could be bad RAM. Get and run Memtest86+.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 22
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

thanks for the replies i took it off my i3 540 which ram the 8gb fine

yes i am running 64 bit windows 7

its weird.... since it worked fine on my i3 which had dual channel ram as well hopefully its nothinbg with the motherboard?
bvuong is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 02:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: East
Posts: 3
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

Hi.. Can you check the following:
1. What does the BIOS say about your memory? If BIOS Says, 4GB, then nothing much we can do... That means Your Chipset supports upto 4GB.(You are using 64 bit OS doesnt make all 8GB available)
2. Which version of Widows 7 you are using? The memory that is usable is depenedent on the Chipset also. Please visit:Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows) Windows 7 Part for more details
3. As you are using 2 4GB Rams, it is also possible to be a loose connection for the second RAM.
Let me do more research on this for you.... You Plz check these first, lets see what best we can do...
Rajive is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 09:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

Try each stick by itself, then check all your RAM slots one by one. Either of them could be bad.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 09:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

Are you using the stock heatsink or an aftermarket alternative. Sometimes, when using an aftermarket cooler, all your memory won't be recognized if the cooler is tightened down to much. This happens because the cooler will warp the motherboard and this warping results in some of the memory contacts not making a good connection to the slots.

You can see some of the warping in this picture.


It's also warping the mobo from the opposite direction, but it's not as noticeable.


If your are using an aftermarket cooler try loosening it up a little.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 03:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 22
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

thank you i made an error though i actually have 4x2gb ram

bios sometimes says 8gb and sometimes says 4. My motherboard and cpu supports up to 32gb RAM (4x8gb)

i use two different things to check my ram... speccy and the my computer properties.... sometimes they both say 4gb or 8 gb or one time speccy said 8gb and the my computer properties says 4gb....

I have windows 7 ultimate running.

i removed and put back the ram.
bvuong is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 03:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

Could be a BIOS problem, correct Slay?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 22
Default Re: RAM only recognized sometimes

i have stock heatsink from sandybridge held on by clips
__________________

bvuong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Ram not recognized, help... PUNISSHER Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 01-19-2009 12:08 PM
RAM Not Recognized go_sharks86 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-13-2006 06:00 PM
don't want to be recognized as a .txt!! jg24kev Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-23-2005 05:18 AM
TNT-2 Is not getting recognized ? Chrisman88990 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 01-12-2005 02:34 AM
amd cpu not recognized by this MB gohand Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 01-10-2005 02:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.