Ram not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2007, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Ram not working

my ram just arrived today.
Corsair 2X 512 184 pins ddr dimms. This was suggested in a forum room i posted earlier.

I plugged the 2 dimms in. the computer started up...in started really slow and i checked my ram stats and it didnt increase it.

is their a special way to install them. i plugged them in correctly and it locked in. And no increase was noticed in performance or stats.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Ram not working

how fast was the ram you were using and how fast are your new sticks?
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Ram not working

Sorry, didn't read your sig. If your old RAM was 400mhz too then there would be no real performance gain speed wise unless you are multi tasking. Try a little OCing and see if you like the results. A common misconsecption about RAM is that if you add more your computer will go faster. I like to make the analogy that just adding RAM is like strength training. You computer will be able to handle more, but adding faster RAM or OCing is like speed training, it will be able to run faster.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ram not working

i got it to work, it just need to be pushed it harder, real hard.
well i know it wont make things go faster. Since im getting my new card and imm be playing games like oblivion and stalker i wanna make sure i have enough.
and for overclocking, i dont think ill be able to oclock the old ram i had...theeyre samsung brand. If i just oclock the 2 new 512 sticks i got will it work with the new ones and what program should i use to oclock them. And is it possible to olclock on stock itmes...i dont wanna buy any thing else.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Ram not working

Use your BIOS to oc it if you want to. If you're not sure about what your doing you can google some ram ocing guides.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Ram not working

If you put in you new and old sticks together you should download memtest, burn it to a cd, boot from it and run it for a few hours. If you get alot of errors take out the old sticks and run it again. Its not usually wise to mix RAM.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 04:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ram not working

what is considered a lot of errors and little errors.
What is normal and what is above normal.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Ram not working

i ran the memtest all night.
It went all the way to 800 percent and no errors at all.

So am i on the good side now..because i dont have enough money to get 2X1gb sticks of ram.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wired LAN no longer working... lazer_viking Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 06-11-2007 07:00 PM
New Sony DVD's Not Working kfc469 New Technology and Products 2 05-28-2007 11:39 AM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM
Cable connection not working. lalala123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-10-2007 01:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.