RAM not being used? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2012, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 269
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default RAM not being used?

I'm sure i remember seeing a thread about this, but when it try to search the forums, i get a database error.

I have 8GB of RAM in my computer right now. It is 2 sticks of 4GB RAM, which is why i know this problem isn't very likely to be a problem with my installation:

I was playing Minecraft today (very bored, i have been through all my games several times already, since its my half term - this is my last resort) and i got an error about not having enough RAM space, basically (they dumb it down a bit), and i though 'Well thats odd, i doubt Minecraft uses 8GB of RAM', so i looked at Task Manager, and i realized that it seems my computer is only using 3GB of RAM:



Now, i know we aren't supposed to discuss torrents/cracks on here, but i can't really explain this without it - until i get the money to buy an SSD and Windows 7, i have a crack on my computer to let me keep using Vista. I bought it once already, so i'm not robbing Microsoft of their money at all (and buying Vista again would be them robbing me of mine).

I am guessing that the problem is that my computer has kept the same system settings, as my old computer had 3GB of RAM, which is what this appears to be saying.

If so, how would i go about making my computer realize i have 8GB instead? My guess is with the BIOS, however i would rather know what i was doing than just play around with my computers settings and hope for the best.

Or, am i just reading that wrong, and i am using all 8GB anyway?

Thanks a lot,
Danny
__________________

danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: RAM not being used?

You are using a 32bit OS. To address more than ~3.5GB of ram you must have a 64bit OS.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 269
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: RAM not being used?

Well that's simple enough to fix - i was gonna buy a new OS at some point in the future anyway! Not sure how i never noticed this before. No wonder my games kept failing when i had loads of stuff open...

64bit OS's cost the same as 32bit right?
danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: RAM not being used?

Yes, they usually do for consumers.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware return rates for mobos, ram, graphics cards, hard drives, ram, and SSDs Puddle Jumper New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-02-2012 11:56 AM
FS/FT: AMD x2 4400, 2gb ddr400 ram, matx mobo's, 1gb (2x 512) ddr2 sodimm laptop ram ShadoWing Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-01-2007 11:53 AM
Will I notice a difference with 4GB of Ram vs 2GB of Ram on my new system? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-03-2007 03:12 PM
Can I replace a 512MB PC3200 RAM with a 1GB PC4200 RAM? stargre System Upgrades 8 01-31-2006 12:38 AM
RAM QUESTION! can a pair of duals go wit an extra stik of ram? jaylee714 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-14-2004 11:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.