Ram location - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2005, 03:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Ram location

On the DFI lanparty uT nF4 Ultra-D, which slots do I put 2x 512mb for dual channel? There is DDR1, DDR2, DDR3 and DDR4. 1 and 3 are yellow and 2 and 4 are orange.
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Your manual should tell you. In general it's alternate numbers, so put them in 1 and 3 or put them in 2 and 4. I'm not familiar with DFI boards, so you need to double check.
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

My manual doesnt specifically state where to put them. Not too clear on that issue. Just tells you how to put the ram in. I just want to make sure they are in the right sloots so i get dual channel. Anyone else have this mobo?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

It's the orange slots, I just did some read up. There ya go.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

K, I read that also a minute ago. Just seems weird that DFI and MSI would do it differently. My MSI K8N neo 2 platinum mobo runs its dual channel like...Dim 1(green) and Dim 2 (purple).
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yeah MSI is different, i have that mobo, the engineers messed up and put the dual channel close to each other in different colors

on the DFI you put them in the same color slots 1-3 for sure
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
My MSI K8N neo 2 platinum mobo runs its dual channel like...Dim 1(green) and Dim 2 (purple).
That's because in their mind it would be easier to remember...green = channel A, purple = channel B, you'd want 'DUAL' channel so obviously you'd want one stick in each channel...

Soooo really if you think of it like that it makes sense.

DFI just made it so that you want a stick in the same color....go figure
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Cool, thnx alot. Makes sence
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.