Ram Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2009, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Ram Issues

This is my specs
Mobo is ECS GeForce7050M-M ECS Web Site
Ram is Patriot Memory Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 1GB PC2-6400 Patriot Memory - Products
Cpu AMD Althon 64 x2 5000+

I have onboard video right now
The issue i am having is that i have one ram installed already, when i put my second ram in the computer will turn on, but will not boot, doesn't show anything on the moniter. if i jump the cmos to reset, the video will turn on. but after that put the jumper back, then nothing. How can i resolve this?
__________________

zuruikyubi is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Ram Issues

Sounds to me that the second module you're trying to fit is dead. Try it on it's own to see if it'll boot.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Ram Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
Sounds to me that the second module you're trying to fit is dead. Try it on it's own to see if it'll boot.
I tried that, forgot to mention it, both memory modules run fine by themselves but not together.
zuruikyubi is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Ram Issues

Are they the same make and speed, if not they may just have compatibility issues for some strange reason. Other than that I'd say your mobo is slowing dieing one section at a time.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 04:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Ram Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Are they the same make and speed, if not they may just have compatibility issues for some strange reason. Other than that I'd say your mobo is slowing dieing one section at a time.
I'd mention timings as well as speed (unless by speed you mean MHz+timings).
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide: Ram Timings For Dummies H4x3r New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-01-2009 07:45 PM
Need help regarding RAM! Please! (Novice) Mounce System Upgrades 3 04-22-2009 11:39 PM
Core i7 build not booting with all RAM jesspren6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 03-29-2009 02:39 AM
Added RAM, no performance increase? drewjustforyou System Upgrades 2 03-21-2009 08:06 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.