RAM issues - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2009, 05:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: RAM issues

Reinstall OS.
__________________

MundoDragon is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 09:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: RAM issues

Ok, I've reinstalled my OS and cleared the CMOS, but now when I try to boot it tells me my CMOS setting are wrong and it will not load windows. I can get into BIOS with both sticks installed and its shows my total memory at 38XX, so I believe it "sees" the ram, any other thoughts? I have tried each stick of ram by themselves, in each slot and everything works fine. It's just when the two get together, in every combination in the slots possible, that it will not work still.
__________________

Inked is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 07:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: RAM issues

Kave you tried 'Restore Optimal Defaults' or equivalent in BIOS?
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 07:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: RAM issues

No I didn't because I think one of my RAM sticks is faulty, it reads sometimes but other times it doesn't. Like I have said it shows sometimes in BIOS having all MB but other times it won't load at all.

Thanks for the help guys.
Inked is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 08:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAM issues

I'd be testing each stick of RAM individually. If you are running Vista, check the below link on how to do that...

How to test the RAM (Memory) in VISTA | vistahelp.com.au
__________________

GR-TEK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 build not booting with all RAM jesspren6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 03-29-2009 02:39 AM
New Ram - Quick question mack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2008 07:24 PM
Kingston RAM wafflehammer New Systems | Building and Buying 33 03-26-2008 01:31 AM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.