RAM issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2008, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Default RAM issue

Details
Product: Windows Operating System
ID: 1003
Source: System Error
Version: 5.2
Symbolic Name: ER_KRNLCRASH_LOG
Message: Error code %1, parameter1 %2, parameter2 %3, parameter3 %4, parameter4 %5.

Explanation
A blue screen (Stop error) was reported. The message contains details about the error. A matching event with Event ID 1001 might also appear in the event log. This matching event displays information about the specific error that occurred.


User Action
No user action is required.


That's the details... it's something to do with memory. Sometimes when I am streaming something or connected to IRC channels, my comp restarts for some reason. Above it says that I shouldn't do anything- but I disagree. If my comp restarts for no reason, then it is something that should be fixed, as I can't live with it.

So anyone know why this happens? And before you say run memtest, I've already checked my ram with check-it utilities and it says that there's no errors reported... so I'm flummoxed here.
__________________

Chromos1048 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:10 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: RAM issue

Well I wouldn't tell you to test your RAM if you had used the right program. Download MemTest86+ and run that for at least 8 hours.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: RAM issue

Download memtest (its free) and run it. It should be able to tell you if this is a memory issue.

Looks like cvb beat me to it...
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM issue

Yeah, I figured you would say that... but how do I get memtest to work? I downloaded it, burned it onto disk, and it won't do anything... I don't even know how to boot from disk on this computer... there's something in my BIOS that says "press TAB for POST", is that what I need to do?
Chromos1048 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: RAM issue

No you need to go into your BIOS and where it says "Boot Priority" set the CD/DVD drive to the first spot.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM issue

I have it like that already, doesn't work.

But I think I may know why now that I think about it. I "wrote" the image to a Cd. Is that the same thing as burning? If not, then is there a free burning program out there? I have Nero... but it doesn't seem to work right...
Chromos1048 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM issue

Okay, well I successfully burned it to a CD. So that solves that... but it still won't boot. It just goes straight into windows screen, then my desktop.
Chromos1048 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: RAM issue

That means either it wasn't burned properly or your boot priority still isn't set right. I'm willing to bet on #2.

Some motherboards have a boot priority but then another boot list when starting up. Try pressing F10 or F12 while the computer starts loading.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: RAM issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
That means either it wasn't burned properly or your boot priority still isn't set right. I'm willing to bet on #2.
The file says "image" after I burn it to Cd.. is that right? Also I have it to boot from both my cd/dvd drive before HDD. So it seems to just be missing it.

Quote:
Some motherboards have a boot priority but then another boot list when starting up. Try pressing F10 or F12 while the computer starts loading.
I've tried that. If there's a button that you have to push to boot from disk, I'm not finding it..
Chromos1048 is offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 07:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: RAM issue

Did you burn the ISO file as a data disc? Or did you burn the ISO actually to the disc (so the info in the ISO is burned, not the ISO itself).

Use ImgBurn to burn the ISO to the disc: The Official ImgBurn Website
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible RAM/Board Issue? Stiltzkin Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-01-2008 02:18 PM
RAM Problems carlito6904 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 06-14-2008 10:14 PM
Ram Hussein19891 System Upgrades 1 06-04-2008 10:50 PM
Issue with OC. Win2kpatcher Overclocking and Modding 1 01-06-2008 10:43 AM
Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) Higach Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-06-2008 02:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.