RAM Issue? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2006, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default RAM Issue?

Usually when I am in game on Counter-Strike 1.6 i would get lines that looked like static go across my screen. They didnt move and my sound stopped working, like my computer crashed, i'd have to restart it.
Today it did it and then a few seconds later a blue screen came up with a lot of text and near the bottom i caught the line "dumping physical memory" or something along those lines, then my computer restarted. I didnt get to copy the error message up top, next time it does this I am going to write it down.
I also disable auto restart. I would appreciate any help.
zzuf
__________________

zzuf is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Check the RAM with Memtest.
__________________

johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

I doubt your RAM is at fault but Memtest is still a good idea. Sounds to me like a driver problem.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I'm running a prime95 torture test, and I'm not to sure how to do all of that memtest stuff
zzuf is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by superdave1984
I doubt your RAM is at fault but Memtest is still a good idea. Sounds to me like a driver problem.
sounds like a video driver problem.

make sure they are all updated.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

they are, and i've switched drivers several times, each has this problem
zzuf is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Ephexx793
Default

Zzuf, google "Memtest98" without the quotes. Download and install and run MemTest98, it is not a big file, but that is what they mean when they say "run memtest", it checks your RAM and displays it's timing(s), and other things. Let it run overnight is what I have heard, maybe so you don't use the computer while it's running.


Could it all have anything to do with a defective Hard Drive?? It's not his video card, and if nothing is overheating then what else causes this besides corrupt/out of date drivers?

try updating ALL of your drivers.
Ephexx793 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 02:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Did you remove and reseat your video card? I had a problem where my old ati card got chip creep and slid a bit out of the socket and caused me to get some wicked crazy visuals.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 06:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/8977/dsc00395pp0.jpg

a screenshot of the problem.
zzuf is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

That artifacting indicates your Video card is taking a gorilla dump!! Lower the resolution and bit rate (16 bit) and see if it runs ok. I think, my friend, you are in need of an upgrade! 7950gt 512mb PCIe card for $275!!! Yea baby!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.