Ram help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 72
Default Ram help!

I got a new video card for christmas the geforce 7300 GS and It has been working great but when I try playing Doom 3, it takes forever for the game to boot up and load the levels. I already upgraded my drivers and updated the doom 3 patch 1.3 and all that stuff. So I think it is my ram cuz I have 512 ram and when I check to see how much ram is available only like 200 MB are left cuz its being taken up by other stuff. Can anyone tell me how I can fix it and free up some ram. I am pretty sure it is the ram cuz I don't have any problem with playing halo which takes up less ram.
__________________

chaosunknown is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: Ram help!

Quote:
Originally posted by chaosunknown
I got a new video card for christmas the geforce 7300 GS and It has been working great but when I try playing Doom 3, it takes forever for the game to boot up and load the levels. I already upgraded my drivers and updated the doom 3 patch 1.3 and all that stuff. So I think it is my ram cuz I have 512 ram and when I check to see how much ram is available only like 200 MB are left cuz its being taken up by other stuff. Can anyone tell me how I can fix it and free up some ram. I am pretty sure it is the ram cuz I don't have any problem with playing halo which takes up less ram.
Bingo!!! Mo Memory!! And Doom 3 is a video card FPS hog. My 7950gt only runns that game at 45 FPS!!!! Free up of memory:

Go to Run: and type in msconfig. Go to Startup Tab and unclick everything except your anti-virus software. Reboot...that will help. Best choice is another 512mb of memory!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 72
Default

thanks for the help!
chaosunknown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.