ram or the hard drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2012, 04:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default ram or the hard drive?

Hello, I'm nearly 100% sure this is a hardware related problem, i'm just not sure if its the ram or the hard drive.

Symptoms:

The laptop (toshiba satellite l655) takes a long time at the loading screen. When I get to the desktop everything runs at a crawl. I tried opening only the task manager and it took over 2 minutes before it appeared. Chrome failed to open with a "Referenced Memory and I/O error status" error. Also, when I try chkdsk /r it always freezes at the same point which is phase 4/5 at the 10% mark. Explorer constantly crashes.

Should I just do hard drive and memory test then?

I've already backed up all the data.

thanks.
__________________

blue4paper is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: ram or the hard drive?

Do both test. It could be either or. Although it does sound more like the hard drive. Usually the RAM is the first component in a computer to go bad.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: ram or the hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue4paper View Post
Hello, I'm nearly 100% sure this is a hardware related problem, i'm just not sure if its the ram or the hard drive.

Symptoms:

The laptop (toshiba satellite l655) takes a long time at the loading screen. When I get to the desktop everything runs at a crawl. I tried opening only the task manager and it took over 2 minutes before it appeared. Chrome failed to open with a "Referenced Memory and I/O error status" error. Also, when I try chkdsk /r it always freezes at the same point which is phase 4/5 at the 10% mark. Explorer constantly crashes.

Should I just do hard drive and memory test then?

I've already backed up all the data.

thanks.
Can you get a read out from your hdd, tell us what the tempature is, also check with manufacturer hdd diagnostics tool.
If it says your hdd is in yellow or red, it should alert you to back up everything and get it replaced.
I'm surprised windows did not find out first, and give you a warning to move out if its your hdd.

If it is your memory, bios will have a hard time booting your up to your os at each start up. Thats the first sign telling you its time for new memory.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 01-11-2012, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 238
Default Re: ram or the hard drive?

I'm also ruling out memory. However, I ran a chkdsk and it said there were no bad sectors... I'm trying to "wipe" the hard drive and do a clean windows install, but every time I try a wipe program : killdisk, dban, the ubuntu live cd wipe program, they all either fail or freeze.

Ubuntu live cd wipe failed saying " write error : input/output error"

This all leads me to think its a bad hard drive.

I'm just hesitant on getting a new one because hard drives are just so expensive right now.

edit: i tried the hitachi diagnostic tool, but I can't load windows at this point and I can't make head or tails of the bootable disklette options.

thanks
blue4paper is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: ram or the hard drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue4paper View Post
I'm also ruling out memory. However, I ran a chkdsk and it said there were no bad sectors... I'm trying to "wipe" the hard drive and do a clean windows install, but every time I try a wipe program : killdisk, dban, the ubuntu live cd wipe program, they all either fail or freeze.

Ubuntu live cd wipe failed saying " write error : input/output error"

This all leads me to think its a bad hard drive.

I'm just hesitant on getting a new one because hard drives are just so expensive right now.

edit: i tried the hitachi diagnostic tool, but I can't load windows at this point and I can't make head or tails of the bootable disklette options.

thanks
Sorry made a little error on my part use the dos based version if you can stick it on a bootable usb flash drive or the normal CD-R.

http://www.hitachigst.com/hdd/suppor...00_install.IMG
Downloads
To run the DFT, you must download the appropriate creator or image and create a self-booting media.
You may create the media under Windows (using the Windows OS version) or Linux (using the binary image), for instructions on how to run the Drive Fitness Test utility download the User's Guide below.
DRIVE FITNESS TEST USER'S GUIDE (426 K)
Guide to using DFT DISKETTE CREATOR FOR WINDOWS OS (2,130 K)
Creates self-booting media to run DFT | READ ME | HAVING TROUBLE CREATING THE BOOTABLE DISKETTE?
BINARY DISKETTE IMAGE FOR NON-WINDOWS OS (1,440 K)
Creates self-booting media to run DFT | READ ME
CD IMAGE (2,720 K)
Creates bootable CD for Linux, Windows and other operating systems ( requires CD-RW drive and software).
Notes
Does not support Microdrive Digital Media products.
Supports all Travelstar HDDs, except 8E, 10E and C4K series.
Does not support Endurastar products.
Does not support external USB or Firewire attached drives.
Compatible only with x86-based processors.
Does not support the PC which loads Intel ICH9M chipset. HitachiGST are working to fix this situation.


https://www.google.com/search?source...w=1280&bih=855

Give this search a good look through, it maybe the hdd for sure....
-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hard drive and ram not showing... demonmaestro Microsoft Windows and Software 8 07-28-2009 11:31 PM
Hard drive and RAM cooling.. Arumuni Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-14-2005 10:45 AM
Why RAM? Why Not Hard drive? Mohan Giri Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 28 03-08-2005 06:12 PM
Upgrade my hard drive or RAM? quietb05 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 02-15-2005 03:32 PM
Not enough RAM? Bad hard drive? Toshiro Microsoft Windows and Software 13 09-26-2004 03:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.