RAM failing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2007, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default RAM failing

i was working on a comp and long story short i put my ram in it to speed the installation of windows, when i put my ram back in my comp i had to fight with it for a few hours because it wouldnt read my hard drive, now its up and running but im noticing some programs dont work anymore such as ati control center, my logitech mouse software, and msn. I can reinstall the programs and then they work but only once before they stop working again.

My ram has warrenty so i hope its that just theres 3 sticks of it so it could be fun figuring out which one it is.

Also the comp i put it in, the lady jammed sdr ram in the ddr slot so you can just imagine what i had to deal with, the motherboard is prob blown.


So is there tests i can run on the ram, or is it the ram or maybe something else????? Thx


**EDIT**
windows wouldnt install with all 1.5gb of my ram in, i had to install windows with only one stick of 512mb
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: RAM failing

Tests you can run on your RAM == Memtest 86
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

what am i suspose to be lookin for in this test, been goin for over an hour and is at 65%
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: RAM failing

Memtest can go on forever if you let it. It just loops.
To get an accurate record of errors you should let it go for 4 to 6 hours.
Then look and see how many errors it recorded.
The more errors, the more likely the memory is bad and should be replaced.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 03:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

it just completed one pass with 0 errors, i guess i have no choice but to let it keep goin
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.