RAM error & BSOD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2008, 04:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Exclamation RAM error & BSOD

Hi

Yesterday I have bought Kingston 1GB DDR1 400MHz RAM for my dinosaure Pentium IV, Socket 478, Motherboard DFI 648FX-ALE. So I inserted memory module into the third slot, 'cause first two are taken (1st - Kingston 512Mb DDRI 400MHz, 2nd - PQI 256Mb DDRI 400MHz). After turning the PC on, I periodically get the BSOD error: IRQL_not_less_or_equal. I had tested each module separately with MemTest86+ and no errors. But after I insert the second one (512Mb or 256Mb), MemTest found many errors in 5 test (Block Move, 64 moves).
This is that I found in my motherboard manual:

System Memory
• Three 184-pin DDR DIMM sockets
• Supports 6 banks up to 3GB using PC1600 (DDR200),
PC2100 (DDR266), PC2700 (DDR333) or PC3200 (DDR400)
unbuffered DDR SDRAM DIMM, 2.6V type
• 16Mb, 64Mb, 128Mb, 256Mb and 512Mb SDRAM technology
with page size from 2KB up to 16KB


Does this mean my motherboard doesn't suport RAM module over 512Mb?
Have anyone know go to fix this problem? Now my PC running with one, 1GB module.
__________________

fikusas is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

It appears your chipset doesn't like DDR400 in all 3 slots at the same time.


Diamond Flower (DFI) 648FX-ALE Motherboard: Memory Module
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

It even doesn't like DDR400 in 2 slots together with 1GB module
fikusas is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

You might get away with just the 1gb and 512mb by themselves while leaving the 256mb out.

Single-channel chipsets for Pentium 4: SiS648FX and VIA PT800
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 10:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

OK, thera are 3 slots. 1GB RAM now is in slot 1. There I should place 512MB? To the 2nd or 3rd?

p.s. I already have tested mixed combinations of 2 modules and still getting errors by memtest86+.
fikusas is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

So you are getting errors with the 1gb stick paired up with either of the other 2 sticks? You may have to go into the bios to force DDR333 timings to get things to work. Since I don't know your bios I wouldn't know how to do it.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

Yes, You're absolutely right.
So I have to set DDR frequerency to333? Now it is DDR400, i.e. maximum value.
fikusas is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by fikusas View Post
Yes, You're absolutely right.
So I have to set DDR frequerency to333? Now it is DDR400, i.e. maximum value.
Yes, if you can slow the timings in the bios you might get things to work with all 3 sticks.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 01:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

It seems the problem is resolved Just updated BIOS and now 1GB + 512MB RAM works without errors. Thanks for all
fikusas is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 01:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: RAM error & BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by fikusas View Post
It seems the problem is resolved Just updated BIOS and now 1GB + 512MB RAM works without errors. Thanks for all

I glad to see you didn't have to mess with the timings.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Major BSOD problems. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-01-2008 01:37 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.