Ram compatabilty with motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2011, 03:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

I have a HPE 410 Y computer and I've been doing some upgrading to make it better for gaming. I wanted to upgrade the ram to something made by Corsair and I really like the Dominator ram. I don't know though if this will work with my motherboard. I've read on many forums where people have spent over 100 dollars on ram just to find out that it doesn't work with their motherboard. So below is what I was thinking of getting and I want to be 100% sure it will be compatible with my motherboad. I would get 4 sticks or 2gb ram for a total of 8gbs.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMP4GX3M2B1600C8

This is from HP's website giving the computer specs. If you look at memory upgrade under ram it will give all the requirements needed for compatibility.

HP Pavilion Elite HPE-410y Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Pavilion Elite HPE-410y Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)
__________________

AMD_Man is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

Quote:
Memory upgrade information
Dual channel memory architecture
Four DDR3 DIMMs (240-pin) sockets
PC3-8500 (DDR3-1066)
PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333)
Non-ECC memory only, unbuffered
Supports 1GB, 2GB, and 4GB DDR3 DIMMs
Supports up to 16 GB on 64-bit systems
Supports up to 4 GB on 32-bit PCs
*32-bit PCs cannot address a full 4.0 GB of memory.
You need to get 1333MHz RAM. Try to get a 2x4GB package (your motherboard does support 4GB modules), that will make upgrading easier in future and save space.
This looks to be an ideal set for you
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL

Keep in mind that you need to be using a 64-bit operating system to use more than 4GB of RAM. If you're using 32-bit then you'll only be able to use 3.7GB of the 8GB.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

I'm most familiar with Corsair is G skill a good company that makes good quality relaible parts? I don't know much about them.
AMD_Man is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

yes, G.Skill are just as good as Corsair.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

Ok thanks. I meant to say in the last post it is Windows 64 bit home premium so will will take up to 16 GB of DDR3 ram. I've read where people talk about going into Bios to change the ram. Is this part of the installation or are they going into BIOS to overclock the ram?
AMD_Man is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

They're most likely changing the timings/clocks of the RAM. If you're just going stock, then you just need to plug in the new modules and you'll be good.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

would this work it looks like the same thing but again I want to check and be 100% positive? The one you showed me was two 4gb sticks. I have four slots though so I would need 4 -2gb stick (2X2X2X2)

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9Q-8GBRL
AMD_Man is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Ram compatabilty with motherboard?

You don't need to fill all four slots. You can have two empty, and it's better to use as few slots as possible, since then you have two slots spare to upgrade in future if you want to, and it uses less power too (thus there's less heat).
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows OS Compatabilty with AM3 PuRpLeSmUrF Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-20-2010 05:46 PM
ASUS P6T DELUXE X58 Motherboard or Asus Rampage Extreme X48 Socket 775 Motherboard? ? Shyam Bhat New Systems | Building and Buying 22 11-04-2008 05:21 PM
Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 26 03-22-2008 05:56 PM
Better Motherboard? He Hate Me Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 03-18-2005 10:01 PM
motherboard z3r0gr4v1ty Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 03-15-2005 08:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.