RAM Compatability Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2009, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to GamerKingFaiz Send a message via MSN to GamerKingFaiz Send a message via Yahoo to GamerKingFaiz
Default RAM Compatability Question

Hey guys, so I wanted to buy some RAM, so I ran a scan with Crucial's scanner, and that's how I knew which type of RAM to get, and I got these results.

So I ordered 2 GB of RAM, yesterday to replace in my laptop which is running 2x 512 MB, or 1 GB.

One minute detail I overlooked on my scan results page was this:
Quote:
Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.*

*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory.
How accurate are these scans. Will the 2 GB stick I ordered really not be recognized by my Laptop?

Or is what Crucial recommending just some Manufacturing limit, which can be overruled?
__________________

GamerKingFaiz is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: RAM Compatability Question

Those scans are pretty accurate, and it is recommending the limit your hardware can handle.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to GamerKingFaiz Send a message via MSN to GamerKingFaiz Send a message via Yahoo to GamerKingFaiz
Default Re: RAM Compatability Question

Dang. I was hoping that maybe it was just reading some default manufacturer reading, and that I could actually install the 2 GB stick, and have my laptop recognize it.

I wonder what frys.com's return policy is. Do they return things that are already opened. I want to still test it when it arrives before coming to any conclusions.
GamerKingFaiz is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: RAM Compatability Question

Quote:
Description Spare part number
1024-MB (667-MHz, PC2-5300, DDR2) 454922-001
512-MB (667-MHz, PC2-5300, DDR2) 454920-001
256-MB (667-MHz, PC2-5300, DDR2) 454921-001
http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01301275.pdf

From the maintenance guide showing memory it can use. You look to be out of luck with the 2gb stick.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default Re: RAM Compatability Question

Your CPU speed will limit your RAM options.

1Gb per slot is all your machine will handle.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 02:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to GamerKingFaiz Send a message via MSN to GamerKingFaiz Send a message via Yahoo to GamerKingFaiz
Default Re: RAM Compatability Question

Blast, who knew such a limitation existed. Alright, well I won't even open it.

Has anyone tried returning anything frys.com, is it pretty hitch free?

EDIT: Alright well I called them up, and the lady said that it was in the process of being shipped, and that she'd try to cancel it. If she couldn't and I got a shipping confirmation instead of a cancellation confirmation, I'd just need to call back. In the end, the problem seems to be solved. Thanks guys.

Now to find a good deal on 2x 1 GB sticks...
__________________

GamerKingFaiz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-04-2009 10:20 AM
32Bit/64Bit RAM Question Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 9 10-19-2008 02:38 PM
Ram Quality Question Tisoraku System Upgrades 27 03-03-2008 07:14 PM
Adding RAM question Drewser New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-29-2008 01:27 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.