RAM Again - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 01:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default RAM Again

i hate RAM lol.

so i bought some new RAM, installed it .worked fine, worked great. could play dark messiah now. then suddenly today, two days after i installed it, my computer has a spaz, restarts every 20 minutes. wont run anything firefox dead, noscans everything.

put in my old RAM, surprise. everything works.

basically any ideas on what to do wit hthe new RAM to make it work?
__________________

__________________
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,220
Default Re: RAM Again

dead ram? how many sticks did you buy.. just 1... or several?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM Again

well i dont think its dead, i can still put it in and use it, it just doesnt want to do anything. crashes everything.

i bought two 512 sticks of ddr2700

and i added that to a stck of 512, same speed and type as before.
__________________
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: .
Posts: 8,076
Default Re: RAM Again

Bad ram would be a possibility.
__________________
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM Again

it was working perfectly though thats what i cant understand. it just suddenly started being ghey when i was playing WoW
__________________
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,220
Default Re: RAM Again

have you tried reseting cmos.. or even upping the voltage on your ram... you may need up the voltage
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM Again

and how do i do these things. bios?
__________________
Sheepykins is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,220
Default Re: RAM Again

wait, is yours an HP or anything like that.. or have you built it yourself
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: RAM Again

i did assemble it from a ton of different parts but it isnt a HP
edit - my friend set the bios for me. im not so good with it
__________________

__________________
Sheepykins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 01:06 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 12:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 11:53 AM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 10:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.