RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
Default RAM

Hey, Does it matter if I was to buy a different brand of RAM to my current one? How do I find the current brand of the RAM I have currently? Thanks.

Mileyyy is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 05:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: RAM

Originally Posted by Mileyyy View Post
Hey, Does it matter if I was to buy a different brand of RAM to my current one? How do I find the current brand of the RAM I have currently? Thanks.
Simple, open up your case on your computer, make sure it is powered down.
Take out one stick of ram, and look and see if there is a tiny white label on it or sticker.
Sometimes it will say DDR DDR2667 or DDR3 with ram manufacturers name and model number on it.
Also it does matter of what ram you buy, compatibility, DDR2 may not work on DDR based motherboard platforms and etc, so becarefull of what you buy online.
There are a few ram sticks that might not have it, another way to check is to use cpu-z.
CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-27-2012, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Lexluethar's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: RAM

It doesn't need to be the same manuf but should be the same speed (IE DDR / DDR2 / DDR 3). To find the manf just look at the ram.
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware return rates for mobos, ram, graphics cards, hard drives, ram, and SSDs Puddle Jumper New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-02-2012 10:56 AM
FS/FT: AMD x2 4400, 2gb ddr400 ram, matx mobo's, 1gb (2x 512) ddr2 sodimm laptop ram ShadoWing Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-01-2007 10:53 AM
Will I notice a difference with 4GB of Ram vs 2GB of Ram on my new system? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-03-2007 02:12 PM
Can I replace a 512MB PC3200 RAM with a 1GB PC4200 RAM? stargre System Upgrades 8 01-30-2006 11:38 PM
RAM QUESTION! can a pair of duals go wit an extra stik of ram? jaylee714 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-14-2004 10:00 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.