RAID ONLY Boot drive for O.S...Programs on Storage? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2011, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Where mickey mouse lives
Posts: 28
Default RAID ONLY Boot drive for O.S...Programs on Storage?

I'm very sorry for double posting,I thought I previously posted in the right Forum,until I saw this one.

RAID Boot drive Only for O.S.?

I don't know what the difference is with using my WD RAPTOR as a boot drive for the OS and apps, then using my 500GB for storage.....OR someone telling me to RAID the 74GB, then put ONLY my Operating system on it. Isn't that the same thing?

Is there any way, (or do I even want to) Install the O.S. on the 74GB Raptor, then install programs to the storage Drive? Or do they all belong on the same drive? I'm trying to use more resources on my Photoshop and Studio Pinnacle Video Editing.
I presently have three internal hard drives.

Western Digital 74GB RAPTOR,
Western Digital 500GB HDD, and a newly bought
Western Digital 2 TB Caviar Green HDD, which will also be used for saving huge video files.

When I installed XP Home 32 Bit, a few years ago, I used the WD Raptor for boot drive for the O.S. and installed programs, and the 500GB for storage.

In using Pinnacle Studio 15HD, it installs different files all over the boot drive and the 500GB storage drive, and itís very hard to know where all these needed files are, also need to increase resources when I use both Photoshop and Studio.

Someone mentioned to use ONLY the WD 74GB RAPTOR to boot my operating system by USING RAID, and use both the other two drives for applications, and storageÖ.is this an accepted way to configure a system so the O.S. and programs works faster, and more efficient? Thank you!

I have not used the RAID option before, and wondered if itís hard to do? I canít wait to dump XP and get the Pro Win7, so Iím upgrading MoBo hardware first.


Now I'm thinking of just using my 74GB Raptor for an extra Storage HDD, then using the 500GB for my boot drive. BUT Ö.the consensus is that the Raptor is faster for apps and OS. I would like a smoother system!

Thanks again?
__________________

rivrbyte is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ReikokuKo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 175
Send a message via AIM to ReikokuKo
Default Re: RAID ONLY Boot drive for O.S...Programs on Storage?

Its a fairly common setup with SSDs nowadays to put the OS and applications there and all other data on another drive. You will definitely want the OS and applications on the higher performing drive. 74GB vs 500gb for storage, the answer is 500gb hands down, I use a 64gb SSD for my OS and applications and even that will almost fill up in 5 months.

I don't understand how RAID ties in to all this, I would recommend going with your previous set up with the Raptor holding your OS and apps, and the 500gb for storage. You can stripe together two of your hard drives for even faster performance (RAID 0) but you have mismatching capacities so any drive you stripe with your raptor, you will be losing a considerable amount of storage space.
__________________

ReikokuKo is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: RAID ONLY Boot drive for O.S...Programs on Storage?

Put your OS on your fastest drive (the Raptor), but your important stuff like pictures, movies, etc on the RAID drive so that you have redundancy with your data and you have less of a chance of loosing them.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 05:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: RAID ONLY Boot drive for O.S...Programs on Storage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivrbyte View Post
I'm very sorry for double posting,I thought I previously posted in the right Forum,until I saw this one.

RAID Boot drive Only for O.S.?

I don't know what the difference is with using my WD RAPTOR as a boot drive for the OS and apps, then using my 500GB for storage.....OR someone telling me to RAID the 74GB, then put ONLY my Operating system on it. Isn't that the same thing?

Is there any way, (or do I even want to) Install the O.S. on the 74GB Raptor, then install programs to the storage Drive? Or do they all belong on the same drive? I'm trying to use more resources on my Photoshop and Studio Pinnacle Video Editing.
I presently have three internal hard drives.

Western Digital 74GB RAPTOR,
Western Digital 500GB HDD, and a newly bought
Western Digital 2 TB Caviar Green HDD, which will also be used for saving huge video files.

When I installed XP Home 32 Bit, a few years ago, I used the WD Raptor for boot drive for the O.S. and installed programs, and the 500GB for storage.

In using Pinnacle Studio 15HD, it installs different files all over the boot drive and the 500GB storage drive, and it’s very hard to know where all these needed files are, also need to increase resources when I use both Photoshop and Studio.

Someone mentioned to use ONLY the WD 74GB RAPTOR to boot my operating system by USING RAID, and use both the other two drives for applications, and storage….is this an accepted way to configure a system so the O.S. and programs works faster, and more efficient? Thank you!

I have not used the RAID option before, and wondered if it’s hard to do? I can’t wait to dump XP and get the Pro Win7, so I’m upgrading MoBo hardware first.


Now I'm thinking of just using my 74GB Raptor for an extra Storage HDD, then using the 500GB for my boot drive. BUT ….the consensus is that the Raptor is faster for apps and OS. I would like a smoother system!

Thanks again?
You can't RAID only one drive.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Raid 0 Question...with non-raid dual boot UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-02-2008 08:37 AM
Sata as boot, IDE as storage SapperX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-01-2008 06:22 PM
RAID 0 Crash, displays one drive as Non-RAID aoizer0 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-18-2007 11:01 AM
RAID for storage but single HDD for OS? Dr Nick New Systems | Building and Buying 0 02-04-2006 05:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.