RAID array death? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2008, 11:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Unhappy RAID array death?

I had a RAID array running (stripe) using 2 new Samsung 250 gig SATA 2 drives, and Nvidia RAID. My mobo is Asus A8N Sli (an old version). See my sig.

The symptoms:

About a week ago I kept getting a little windows message saying something like 'found new drive'. I thought perhaps there was a loose cable and it perhaps kept detaching itself. I now now this isn't the case. Anyway, this message kept coming up and the drive kept disappearing and reappearing, and working fine when it was there.

Then yesterday I was opening up a folder on the drive and it was empty. At first I thought the drive was being slow but then I got another worrying dialog such as this:

http://www.nickgrayson.net/Temp/errors.jpg

I thought "YELP!". Anyway the drive was still visible but every folder I clicked on was empty and I kept getting those messages. I clicked on properties of the drive and Windows is telling me that the SAME amount of data is stored there. So perhaps there is just some problem accessing it and it's not gone. Anyway what's bizarre about the dialogue is I wasn't trying to "write" anything, just view.

A few reboots later and the drive doesn't show at all, and no dialogs. The DOS screen on bootup says it's there and healthy.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: RAID array death?

I havent used Raid for a while but cant you rebuild the raid array. But first what i would try to do is restore all the files on that drive first. You should be able to fine a backup program that will see the files on that drive if it's not toasted completley.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: RAID array death?

Hehe according to your sig you have almost the same setup as me

Yeah I will look into rebuilding the array. First I'm gonna install Kaspersky to get it to do a full virus check. I've found a couple of worms already using AVG and the whole situation seems very suspicious. Could just be virii.

Get this... earlier today all my web browsers couldn't connect to the internet.... for hours of frustration and reboots. All my games etc COULD. How weird is that!!

I think it was because of this worm: Brontok (computer worm - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

...judging by its maliciousness that could have been what killed my array too.

thx
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: RAID array death?

If you run stripe you run the risk of complete data loss, a high risk. Lets be clear, when a RAID 0 array gets corrupt all your data is gone and its practically impossible to recover. - However it might not be the RAID structure thats the problem so don't give up hope just yet, might just be that the file system is corrupt for example, you could try scanning for errors and fixing.

If you can't pin point the error yourself i'd recommend rebuilding the array from scratch and seeing if the problem goes away, else it might be a hardware problem.

Edit: You've got worms! Ewww
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: RAID array death?

worms beats crabs.

hopefully it is a virus issue and you don't have to completely reinstall and loose all your data.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: RAID array death?

Ha ha great avatar peter cort! I couldn't agree with it more.

MrCoffee I reckon today's hard drives are pretty safe in RAID 0. Probably much safer than one hard drive on its own 10 years ago. These things are so much more reliable these days. These are brand new modern drives.

But yes, I will try those things. Thanks.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: RAID array death?

Something happened to my RAID 0 array a few weeks back. One of the drives was no longer in the array. Had to delete it and create a new one, then reinstall Vista. Luckily for me, I had backed up all my stuff just minutes before I tried to reboot, and found that it was all jacked up.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Comdot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 233
Default Re: RAID array death?

Why didn't you just rebuild it instead of deleting it? I guess you also didn't try recovering the data either as you had it backed up. Most of my own stuff was backed up, but there's a few things that hadn't made it onto DVD yet that I'd like recovered.
__________________
MSI P35 NEO2-FR Socket 775 mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @ stock settings
Patriot 2GB PC2-6400 C4 Extreme Performance @ stock settings
MSI GeForce NX8800GT-Zilent 512MB [link]
2x 250GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA2 8MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB
Maxtor 40 gig drive
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer sound card
Lite-on CD/DVDburner
Generic CD/DVD drive
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 PRO
600W Xilence Gaming Edition PSU
HP LP2475w 24" monitor [link]
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Intellimouse Explorer 2.0A9
Comdot is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 09:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: RAID array death?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comdot View Post
MrCoffee I reckon today's hard drives are pretty safe in RAID 0. Probably much safer than one hard drive on its own 10 years ago. These things are so much more reliable these days. These are brand new modern drives.
All i'm saying is that if you're running RAID 0 you need to accept the associated risk, and its not sensible to store any data that you mind loosing on a RAID 0 array. Many RAID controllers that people commonly use for RAID 0 on a personal computer are not fully hardware controlled, i.e. there is a driver that needs to be loaded in windows in order for you to be able to read the array. That means if anything goes wrong with your windows install and you can't boot it you've effectively lost your data.

P.S. How can you rebuild a RAID 0 array without loosing your data?
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 12:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: RAID array death?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comdot View Post
Why didn't you just rebuild it instead of deleting it? I guess you also didn't try recovering the data either as you had it backed up. Most of my own stuff was backed up, but there's a few things that hadn't made it onto DVD yet that I'd like recovered.
I had planned to do a reinstall of windows anyway, so it wasn't too big of a deal. Like I said, I had all my stuff backed up already. It just so happened that I got lucky, and it only messed up after I had saved my stuff. I didn't even see a rebuild option to be honest.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.