RAID 5 Recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2015, 03:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Default RAID 5 Recovery

Hi,

I hope someone will be able to help me.

I have a RAID 5 configuration and a few days ago, disk 3 showed as being in an error state. Nothing is physically wrong with the disk, so I put it back in and restarted the system, hoping that I could reinitialize disk in the RAID, but when the system startet up again, disk 1 was no where to be found and the disk was making noises, so it seems to be dead. This however means, that I cannot reinitialize disk 3, as only 2 of 4 members are present in the RAID configuration.

Can I somehow recover my data or is all lost? Will I be able to get disk 3 back in the configuration, so I can retreive my data?
I have tried with ReclaiMe RAID Recovery, as it can recover the RAID with one member missing, but it tells me that it's not a RAID 5 configuration

Does anyone have any good ideas?
__________________

LiquidoDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 08:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidoDK View Post
Hi,

I hope someone will be able to help me.

I have a RAID 5 configuration and a few days ago, disk 3 showed as being in an error state. Nothing is physically wrong with the disk, so I put it back in and restarted the system, hoping that I could reinitialize disk in the RAID, but when the system startet up again, disk 1 was no where to be found and the disk was making noises, so it seems to be dead. This however means, that I cannot reinitialize disk 3, as only 2 of 4 members are present in the RAID configuration.

Can I somehow recover my data or is all lost? Will I be able to get disk 3 back in the configuration, so I can retreive my data?
I have tried with ReclaiMe RAID Recovery, as it can recover the RAID with one member missing, but it tells me that it's not a RAID 5 configuration

Does anyone have any good ideas?
I wouldnt think there is anyway to fix this, but I have never been in this position. I will do some research and see what comes up
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

That's what I'm afraid of. I hope you find something and thanks for researching
LiquidoDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidoDK View Post
That's what I'm afraid of. I hope you find something and thanks for researching
Cant really find any useful advice..

Are you using a NAS?
What happens when you just put back in HD3?
Only other solution is restoring from back-up on a new RAID 5 otherwise you've lost all your data.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

Yes, I'm using a NAS. If I put it back, it still shows the error.
I have connected them to my PC and all disks are working, except number 1.
I was hoping that some kind of software could read the data so I could extract it, but it seems that all is lost

My knowledge on RAID isn't that great, so could you tell me why should I choose RAID 10 over RAID 5?
LiquidoDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidoDK View Post
Yes, I'm using a NAS. If I put it back, it still shows the error.
I have connected them to my PC and all disks are working, except number 1.
I was hoping that some kind of software could read the data so I could extract it, but it seems that all is lost

My knowledge on RAID isn't that great, so could you tell me why should I choose RAID 10 over RAID 5?
Yeah RAID 5 is striped so you need to read the file from all but 1 drive, I read up that outdated NAS firmware can give false readings however when people update the firmware the issue goes away HOWEVER you still need to rebuild, in your case you've lost 2 so this wont work.

Check your firmware if it fixes the false error, atleast you solve one issue.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 11:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Denmark
Posts: 4
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

I'm already running the lates firmware, however it's from 2012, but if my NAS is the problem, then I should be able to mount the drives on a UNIX machine and read the data, as 3 out of 4 drives are working, maybe I should try that. Then I will also know if I have a problem with the controller in the NAS.
LiquidoDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: RAID 5 Recovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiquidoDK View Post
I'm already running the lates firmware, however it's from 2012, but if my NAS is the problem, then I should be able to mount the drives on a UNIX machine and read the data, as 3 out of 4 drives are working, maybe I should try that. Then I will also know if I have a problem with the controller in the NAS.
Yeah, Id give that a try, thats the only thing I found, that would cause the false error.
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer goes straight to PC Recovery (have no recovery cd) key282 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-24-2011 10:00 AM
Digital Photo Recovery Software PC Inspector Smart Recovery Osiris Digital Photography and Imaging 2 09-05-2009 09:45 PM
Raid Data Recovery Software Raid To Raid Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-14-2009 12:34 PM
Data Recovery ? - Whats the dumbest computer mistake you've made - Data Recovery ?!? Toby Off Topic Discussion 44 08-11-2003 04:31 PM
Data Recovery ? - Whats the dumbest computer mistake you've made - Data Recovery ?!? Toby Off Topic Discussion 54 08-11-2003 04:31 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.