RAID 1 Removing hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2011, 08:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default RAID 1 Removing hard drive

So I'm very familiar with the RAID 1 setup. Every desktop I've ever worked on for family has a RAID 1 Array. However, I never asked myself the question of whether it is safe to remove a degraded hard drive (while waiting for the replacement to arrive) from the system and run the OS without it. So there is my quesiton to you.

Will the Operating System still run without the degraded hard drive as long as all other drives are okay? Or do you need the degraded drive in the system until the replacement comes to be switched out?
__________________

Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RAID 1 Removing hard drive

The way RAID 1 works, is that it is mirrored. Same data on both drives. If one fails, the other will take its place automatically. You know how to rebuild a RAID, right?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: RAID 1 Removing hard drive

Yeah I know. I've done RAID 1 multiple times so I know how it works. To rebuild the RAID you need to first install another hard drive with equal or greater capacity to the still functioning hard drive, add the new drive to the RAID at the controller screen after the BIOS, then when you're at the desktop let Intel Matrix Storage Manager rebuild the RAID. Like I said, I've done this many times before. I just simply wonder if I can take the degraded drive out while leaving the other good RAID drive in and still run the OS.

(And incase you're getting mixed up with what I'm saying, the Degraded hard drive is dead.)
Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: RAID 1 Removing hard drive

The same data is on both disks. One hard drive will work. It will just break the RAID.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removing hard drive cover and replacing it with plexiglass?? trailrider894 Overclocking and Modding 1 10-07-2008 11:55 PM
replacing single hard drive with 2 hard drives in raid 0 therocker39 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-23-2007 10:50 AM
Removing a hard drive partition 10splaya22 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-17-2007 10:52 PM
removing 1 hard drive nsparedes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-23-2006 03:51 PM
how to connect a hard drive to pc without removing the tower case? l1nh Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 07-05-2005 03:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.