Radeon power cable question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2006, 01:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29
Default Radeon power cable question


I bought an ATI Radeon X1300. This computer has a 360W power supply, and already has a SATA hard drive and two CD-ROM drives in it.

When I try to connect the card, I don't even see any display, but the diagnostic lights say 'possible expansion card failure'. So assuming the card isn't being powered adequately, what should I do?

The manual for the ATI card says to use their Y cable to connect it to a hard drive and split it...however I only have a SATA hard drive in here, and the SATA power cable doesn't match the regular IDE power connectors on the Y cable.

I tried doing it with my CD-ROM drive, but that didn't work, same problem- no display.

What should I do? I don't need both CD-ROM drives...actually I don't need either one because I have an external DVD burner. Should I disconnect one, and plug one end of that cable into the Y adapter, and leave one end of the cable blank (obviously with the third end going into the card)? Or should I buy a different cable that can accomodate the SATA power connector?


DAG is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

It's actually best to NOT split the power going to the HDD. That can cause problems with the HDD.

Make sure the card is fully seated.


Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 29

Yeah, the card is fully seated...I mean the only thing is, this is an AGP Pro slot, however I know it's backwards compatible because the card has a registration tab.

So I guess I should just remove one of the CD-ROM drives?
DAG is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.