Radeon HD 3650 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2008, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Radeon HD 3650

Hi, this is my first time here, and I've checked other forums but I still dont have any responses...

I have a new Radeon HD 3650 AGP, and a Micro ATX motherboard, 1GB RAM, and an old Intel P4 3.06 Ghz CPU. This isnt the best computer out there obviously, but it's most that I can afford given I have a semi-good job and living with a roomate.

My question is, would a card like this that came out recently, be able to run games that came out in 2005, in 1280x1024 or even 1024x768 without much noticeable lag? I bought Grand Theft Auto San Andreas a few days ago and tried it, pumped up the gfx to the highest and it still lags like crazy.

I was also told by a friend that this card can run games like Mass Effect on normal settings, with 800x600 or so, and I run that game, and there is substantial lag, I only get about 10 fps, 30 looking up into the sky.

Does anybody know what I'm doing wrong? I believe I have the correct drivers, but I couldnt find any drivers for the 3650 series, only the 3600....

Any Ideas? They will be appreciated, and thank you in advance........
__________________

PrfctDrk is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

You running XP or Vista, and what are your Memory spec?
__________________

MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 05:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

Two 512MB RAM sticks, and Windows XP home edition... I'm not sure what my RAM stick's brand are (I will check in an hour or so, I'm waiting for someone to log on). The sticks are mixed brands though, i know that.
PrfctDrk is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

This card should run those games just fine. I have a old 6800 that could run them.

These are the drivers:
ATI Catalyst 8.10 - ATI Radeon - XP

The drivers are for the 3600 Series which includes the 3650.

If you are having problem why not go thru our spyware guide:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f51/sp...2008-a-165828/

Post your HiJack Log here:

HijackThis Logs (analyze) - Computer Forums

If that comes out clean and you still experience some serious lag try this:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/how...stable-156582/
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

turn off AA if you had it on
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 05:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
turn off AA if you had it on
Yes, ATI 3xx0 series cards don't scale particularly well with AA on
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

Good call on turning off AA.

Those cards should have no trouble running these games, weird you're having such issues. I would also advise downloading Disk Keeper Lite and doing a defrag, that could help as well. Also removing spyware/malware as was said above.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

Thank you very much to all involved. I still cannot play Mass Effect (Crysis somehow runs great on 800x600 though Lol), but the other games in contest seem to be cleared up
PrfctDrk is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 04:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

Dude the card is not as awful as you claim lol. Your CPU is limiting your performance, along with the fact you have mixed ram. You might also want to find out whether you have DDR2 Ram on your Video Card or DDR3.

Don't go trying to max out games, instead aim for medium settings.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-24-2008, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Radeon HD 3650

Aye, Hussein, I try to find medium settings when gaming, but whenever I get a new card i like to push it to see exactly what my card can handle when it comes to gaming, so I know what games I can handle when they come out and what I cannot :P

I'm just happy I can run all my old games and most of the new ones coming out lately.......
__________________

PrfctDrk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Updated* Laptop Graphics Cards Ranking List veg1992 Laptops and Notebooks 98 12-05-2015 10:24 PM
Radeon HD 3650 problem mister_mv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-17-2008 10:25 AM
How to clock the ATI Radeon HD 3650 n612ua Overclocking and Modding 0 09-26-2008 10:40 AM
Images Leaked of the AMD Radeon HD 3450, HD 3470 and HD 3650 veg1992 System Upgrades 2 12-23-2007 05:57 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.