Radeon 2600 PRO issues... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2008, 09:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

Ok so today I got my Radeon HD 2600 PRO from UPS. I installed it and the software and for some reason the software has slowed my computer down a lot... When I right click on the desktop it takes up to 1 min. for the menu to appear. And also their is no sound anymore for some reason... my motherboard is asus p4p800-e.

Can anyone help?

*note* I used the hotfix... seems to have helped a little bit.
__________________

__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

Did you remove the previous drivers? Sounds like a driver conflict to me.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 09:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default

nope, I will do it right now though

But why is their no sound... video cards dont do sound last time I checked.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

I've heard that possibly sound can get confused since newer cards support sound and video output through hdmi, or via dvi w/ an hdmi adapter. Try going to control panel>Sound and Audio Devices>Audio Tab and checking what the default playback devices are set to. Change them to your sound card if they're set to something else.

And if you're not already, use the Catalyst drivers from ATI's website, not the software that came on the CD with your card. That stuff's usually full of bloatware and extras as well as being outdated.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

Thanks, that fixed the problem the card did come with a DVI to HDMI adapter and that is probibly why.
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-27-2008, 10:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
Try going to control panel>Sound and Audio Devices>Audio Tab and checking what the default playback devices are set to. Change them to your sound card if they're set to something else.
Good advice

Took me a while to figure this out when we installed my father in-laws 2600pro,Never had to deal with sound from a vid card before and it stumped me for a good while
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

Is there anything that I should change in the BIOS for the video card to improve preformence?
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

The only thing you can really do to improve it a bit is to over clock it.
Shumway is offline  
Old 06-01-2008, 10:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
illnastyimpreza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 411
Default Re: Radeon 2600 PRO issues...

how is the card running? are you gona play any graphicly intense games on her ?

Just curious cuz I want to know how my GF's Imac with the 2600 PRO will perform
__________________

illnastyimpreza is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech-Forums Community Driven Spyware/Virus Removal Program Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 26 06-10-2008 12:55 PM
need help with Radeon hd 2600 pro 512mb AGP baraksab Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-11-2008 02:17 AM
Radeon X1950 Pro AGP replacement? Looby System Upgrades 20 12-13-2007 06:39 PM
ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT and 2600 Pro Review veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 06-30-2007 03:45 AM
More ATI Radeon HD 2600 and HD 2400 Details Unveiled maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-07-2007 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.