quiz - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2005, 05:56 PM   #61 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

hey can i go if u can't come up with one.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:02 PM   #62 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

take her away matt
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:14 PM   #63 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

ok then
no Timmy this time.

teddy just bought an new 3800x2 cpu he intstalled it in an older skt 939 mobo it works but when he went to cpu-z it sees only one core also windows does not know what cpu it is under system properties it reports:

AMD Hammer Family Processor - Model Unknown

what did teddy forget to do?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:20 PM   #64 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

flash the bios to the latest version.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:24 PM   #65 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

right it was too easy lol your turn.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:25 PM   #66 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

lol i read like that like 10 times, flash bios to latest version if your getting X2, i have nothing you can think of one next

WHOEVER WANTS A QUESTION COME ON IN!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:33 PM   #67 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

ok jhon bought a DFI motherboard and a 3700+ san diego OEM so he got a stock heatsink from a friend.

When he checked temps it was above normal what did he forget to do?
he has not overclocked and he properly seated the heat sink and there was proper airflow.

what did he forget to do...
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:38 PM   #68 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

jhon forgot to apply (AS5 or similar thermal material) to the CPU die before installing the P.O.S HS&Fan.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:40 PM   #69 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

^and that is correct cause im so smart lol.

you never mention he plugged in the heatsink
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 07:51 PM   #70 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yah it was the thermal paste or heatsink fan not working good.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.