quiz - Page 38 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 12:11 PM   #371 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

get screw and try to hit the power.. then computer will turn on.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 02:02 PM   #372 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

OK sounds like a plan
__________________

tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 02:58 PM   #373 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

ok i got a question for you all.
Two part question.

What 2 linux commands bring up:

1. information about configured network interfaces

2. information about system resources, CPU usage, and list of current processes.
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:28 PM   #374 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

uzi9mm

you mean like ifconfig ?

do you have an uzi ?
tractorboy is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 04:15 PM   #375 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

thats 1 of the commands, now whats the other one.
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:17 PM   #376 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Motherboard answers were all right now. Incidentally, the power pins are typically the pins directly adjacent to the missing pin.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 01:15 PM   #377 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

ok, I got a new question.
timmy just bought a new desktop computer, and he turns it on, and play some movies. The next day, he turns on his computer, there is no sound in his computer. Do you know what should timmy do?
nuke is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 01:35 PM   #378 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

did he push mute?
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 01:41 PM   #379 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

no, of course not. think harder.
nuke is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 01:49 PM   #380 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 319
Default

I would go to control panel, sound and audio devices
click the sounds tab
highlight one of the events that has a speaker to the left
then click the arrow on the bottom right
if no sound
make sure speakers are on
and volume on speakers is on

or click on the speaker in the icon tray to the left of the time
and make sure the slider bar is up to a level that can be heard
and that depending on sound card, mute is not selected, and the correct play back device.
__________________

tractorboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.