quiz - Page 24 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 01:18 PM   #231 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
she is not using an IDE ribbon that supports CSEL.
Correct. Very Good. Most people have no clue what Cable Select entails. Basically because no one uses it.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 01:53 PM   #232 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Problem: Timmy walks into his room one bright, shiny day, and happily plops down in front of his computer. He enthusiastically presses the power button... and nothing happens. He checks all the cords in back to make sure they're properly seated. He opens up the case and tries shorting the power pins, but still nothing happens. He checks all the motherboard power connections to make sure they're securely in place, and finally checks the PSU switch. Everything is as it should be, but the thing won't turn on. Frustrated, he leaves his room to go read a book.

He comes back to his room that night, flips on the light and starts to read at his computer desk. Just for giggles, he reaches down and presses the power button. Lo and behold, it worked! He played WoW for a couple hours, then turned off his computer and went to sleep happy.

The next morning, he stumbled across his room in the dim morning light to check his e-mail. The power switch didn't work again. Furious, he stormed out of the room.

Question: What stupid mistake did Timmy make that's causing him so much frustration?
__________________

dipique is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 01:56 PM   #233 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

his computer is plugged into an outlet that is controlled by a switch.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 02:46 PM   #234 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Haha I guess I made that one too easy. Okay, a lil harder now.

Problem: Timmy's office has their HP 4050n printer hooked up via ethernet cable, and has assigned it an IP address. All the computers in the office print to this printer and it works flawlessly.

Each computer is connected to the printer by adding a printer, choosing a local printer, and assigning it a TCP/IP port. The computers are hooked up to the internet by DSL through a VPN, which connects the office to their sister company in Lansing.

Timmy figures that since the printer is hooked up via ethernet and they're running a VPN, the computers from the office in Lansing should be able to print to that printer using the IP address; but when the secretary in Lansing tries to make her computer print to it, it won't work.

Timmy tries pinging the printer; it works fine. The Lansing office, however, cannot ping the printer.

Question: What setting does Timmy need to change before his printer will work?

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:21 PM   #235 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

i have very little knowledge in networking, but heres my guess....

He has to DMZ the printer's IP.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 04:59 PM   #236 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

That's an excellent guess, but we're actually inside a VPN at this point. However, if I Timmy had wanted Joe in Hawaii to use the printer, that would be necessary.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:38 PM   #237 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

PROBLEM:

One day Timmy decides to play some solitare on his old PII 500mhz machine...but when he turns on the computer after a few months..the harddrive makes a clicking noise and it takes forever to boot up if it boots at all....Timmy is mad because he has a lot of his old photos on that machine that he needs to recover....what is one solution to fixing this problem long enough to recover the files?..

this is easy
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:40 PM   #238 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

put the hard drive in a zip lock baggy, and put the drive in the freezer...

But lets finish dipiques questions at hand before we start jumping into new questions.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:43 PM   #239 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dipique
Haha I guess I made that one too easy. Okay, a lil harder now.

Problem: Timmy's office has their HP 4050n printer hooked up via ethernet cable, and has assigned it an IP address. All the computers in the office print to this printer and it works flawlessly.

Each computer is connected to the printer by adding a printer, choosing a local printer, and assigning it a TCP/IP port. The computers are hooked up to the internet by DSL through a VPN, which connects the office to their sister company in Lansing.

Timmy figures that since the printer is hooked up via ethernet and they're running a VPN, the computers from the office in Lansing should be able to print to that printer using the IP address; but when the secretary in Lansing tries to make her computer print to it, it won't work.

Timmy tries pinging the printer; it works fine. The Lansing office, however, cannot ping the printer.

Question: What setting does Timmy need to change before his printer will work?

Dan
Ok i have one more guess....... He needs to change the gateway address.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:46 PM   #240 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dipique
Haha I guess I made that one too easy. Okay, a lil harder now.

Problem: Timmy's office has their HP 4050n printer hooked up via ethernet cable, and has assigned it an IP address. All the computers in the office print to this printer and it works flawlessly.

Each computer is connected to the printer by adding a printer, choosing a local printer, and assigning it a TCP/IP port. The computers are hooked up to the internet by DSL through a VPN, which connects the office to their sister company in Lansing.

Timmy figures that since the printer is hooked up via ethernet and they're running a VPN, the computers from the office in Lansing should be able to print to that printer using the IP address; but when the secretary in Lansing tries to make her computer print to it, it won't work.

Timmy tries pinging the printer; it works fine. The Lansing office, however, cannot ping the printer.

Question: What setting does Timmy need to change before his printer will work?

Dan
their printer is not dry ice cooled and needs to be overclocked to 50 ghz in order to work.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.