quiz - Page 23 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 04:26 AM   #221 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pcrobot
I have one...
Eddy gets a printer, and he's really excited. He plugs it in to the pc, turns it on, and loads the drivers. He clicks the "Print test page" button, but nothing happens.... Then he hits the "test page" button on the printer, and it shoots out a test sheet. But he can't get the printer to print anything from the pc.
what should Eddy check first?
maybe he hasn't set the new printer as default
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:28 AM   #222 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

no. i'll give one more chance. it's really simple.
__________________

__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:12 AM   #223 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Maybe this has nothing to do with it, but you should always install the printer drivers first. If that happened to me, I'd count my losses and uninstall the printer, unplug, reinstall drivers, plug in printer.

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 09:23 AM   #224 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

Eddy tried what apokalipse and dipique suggested, but it still didn't work.
Do you want the answer?
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 10:17 AM   #225 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

Did he forget to plug the USB cable into the back of the printer?

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 10:53 AM   #226 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

No, the cable was plugged in right...

Answer:
The cable was bad. Eddy swapped out the cable for a new one, and everything worked.
This happened to me before... it took me about 1/2 an hour to figure it out. Installing and re-installing drivers, puching buttons, etc.
You'd think a new printer would have a working cable... :nerd:
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 11:52 AM   #227 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

PROBELM:
YOLANDA ordered and received all of her parts to build her friend a brand new PC. Now she lays out all the parts and begins the build.
The (2) HDD's that she is using are a "80GIG IDE drive and a 200GIG IDE dirve. The 80GIG she's using to install windows XP home and the 200GIG will be for additional storage.

Instead of using the Master/Slave Jumper Configuration she decides to use the "cable select" configuration. She sets both drives jumpers to "cable select" and uses the IDE cable that came with the motherboard.
After completing the build and trying to install windows, the windows installation tells her that it can't find an HDD. Surely she set both jumpers to cable select and connected the standard IDE cable properly. She wants to figure out why this won't work before switching to the master/slave configuration.

Can you explain to Yolanda what the problem is?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 12:04 PM   #228 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

she is not using an IDE ribbon that supports CSEL.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 12:54 PM   #229 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default

hey what is all this skipping around? i thought we were going in some kind of order here.

ah, i'm outta here and i'm not giving you the answer!
__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 12:55 PM   #230 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default

ditto uzi
__________________

dipique is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.