quiz - Page 18 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 09:01 PM   #171 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

nope, actually what happened was the bios somehow set to pick up the monitor from a pci slot?? so i took out my modem (what it was trying to pick up a signal from) and then it switched back to mobo.. then went into bios and set it back to mobo and then put the vid card in and it auto disabled the onboard and used the video card..O_o.. took me two months to figure out wtf was going on
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:23 PM   #172 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

problem: timmy has installed a second dvd drive. both his dvd drives are on the secondary channel. he receives the error message during POST "secondary slave failure, ATAPI incompatable"

question: what should timmy check first?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:24 AM   #173 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

either the cables are backwards or the cmos is set wrong.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:25 AM   #174 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

thats a possibility. the answer i was thinking of is jumper settings. your turn.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:27 AM   #175 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Alfred bought a new hard drive and put it into his computer and started to install windows 98 but when he went to boot the computer the bios could see the hard drive but it wouldnt let him install windows.Whats wrong?
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:30 AM   #176 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

It wasn't set as master? IDK...
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:31 AM   #177 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it hasn't been formatted
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:35 AM   #178 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to pcrobot
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
it hasn't been formatted
I don't know what I was thinking.... I need some sleep!
pcrobot is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:58 AM   #179 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the CD-ROM isn't the first boot drive

Quote:
Timmie thinks that his video card is going crazy. Timmie brings his computer over to his friend's house so they can put in a new video card and a slave hdd. Timmie's friend puts in the video card putting the monitor cable in the right place and hooks up the slave and then boots the computer up in safe mode to find that it has not recognized the new hdd. Timmie's friend reboots and still nothing. The timmie's friend takes out the video card and puts the monitor cable back in the mobo slot and turns it on... blank screen... timmie's friend puts the video card in the computer again and puts the monitor cable in the video card slot.. again, black screen...
What happened and how would you fix it?
reset the BIOS by taking out the battery, plug it into the onboard video, then disable it in BIOS. shut down, then put in the other video card and the monitor cable into the video card.
as for the hard drive, he needs to format it. he can do it in gpedit.msc.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 07:18 AM   #180 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

gpedit.msc is for changing policies. diskmgmt.msc is for formatting.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.