Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 12:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at)

Ok heres just a quick question:

266x8, 2:3 divider, 2.1v, 400Mhz, runs fine
300x8, 2:3 divider, 2.1v, 450Mhz, runs fine
320x8, 4:5 divider, 2.1v, doesnt work
320x8, 1:1 divider, 2.1v, doesnt work
400x8, 1:1 divider, 2.1v, doesnt work

If I know for a FACT that the ram runs fine at 400Mhz on a 2:3 divider, but it doesnt run at 400Mhz on a 1:1 divider, is something wrong with the stick? I have 2 of the same sticks of ram, bought 3 months apart, 1 OCs like a champ, the other seems to be a dud.

Is there some kind of behind the scenes overclocking going on when I change the divider? or should it always be able to run at 400Mhz no matter what the divider is. Because I always thought 400Mhz is 400Mhz, and the divider shouldn't make the ram not work.

And FYI the first stick I got I can reach 485Mhz, and easily do 400x8. I tried dual channel, and the second stick by itself, both suck the big one. So i know its not the overclock, its the stick of ram.

Any help is appreciated.. really need someone to post. This issue is really bugging me. Thanks.

EDIT----------

Holy cow actually I just checked both their labels again. They both say: F2-6400PHU1-1GBNR, DDRII1GB, PC2-6400, CL5-5-5-15 1.9-2.0V... but they both have different S/N.. One starts with 652 (the good one) and the other starts with 716 (the bad one)...

This mean anything? I ordered from the same link from newegg.. They have slightly different heatsinks, but are still recognized as dual channel. It also still doesnt explain why it can't run when the divider is changed.
__________________

__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at)

Hey I see your not getting any reply's. Im not an overclocker myself so i cant really help you much. But I think you can be safe if thinking the ram is the problem.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 02:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default Re: Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at)

Thanks for the reply.

I made this because I found a forum where a gskill technician can reply to Q and A so whenever the admin lets me become a member, I can post it.

ImageShack - Hosting :: gskillramoa3.jpg

I bought them both from this link:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory - Retail
(what's funny is the heatsink in the photo is different than both of my heatsinks, yet its suppose to be the same ram)

My main question is why would a ddr2-800 stick that ran 400mhz and 450mhz both on 2:3 divider not run more than 313mhz when the divider is 1:1 (let alone 400mhz, its rated speed).

Is 1:1 harder on the ram then 2:3? If that's the case I understand but if not, this makes no sense whatsoever.
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question!!! tariqadkhan Laptops and Notebooks 6 01-07-2008 09:22 AM
RAM Question Fishy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-05-2008 03:30 PM
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM
Quick Question...RAM SYL\X/3K New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-12-2007 06:39 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.