quick power/reset/ mobo conection question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2007, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default quick power/reset/ mobo conection question

Ok, so have old...and I mean old stock case I'm trying to mod to save my brother a few bucks. I'm connecting the pwr/reset/led plugs to the EVGA 590 mobo and am a bit miffed...here are some attempts at diagrams:

mobo pins and manual labels as laid out on the mobo:

----------0 - nc
GND-----00 - rstsw
pwrbtn--00 - gnd
prwled--00 - hddle
vcc5----00 - vcc5

Now the complication is that in the above diagram, on the left, the pwrbtn and pwr led are both 2 pin connectors while the right side from top to bottom is a 3 pin reset and 2 pin hdled (mobo diagram). This doesn't line up with case pins which are: 3 pins for pwrbtn and 2 for reset....what to do? that would mean i need 5 pins for the left and 4 for the right? reverse reset with pwr? right now, sorry for poor diagram, it's 4 on left and 5 on right.

hope that makes sense
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: quick power/reset/ mobo conection question

The connectors are two lines in a black plastic housing correct? You can use a small screw and pick out the two lines that come from the case and rearrage them back into the housing.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: quick power/reset/ mobo conection question

so on the pwr LED which is the 3 sized connector from the case that I need to be two, I can try and pop that wire out of the third line and slip it in the second slot so that the 3 sized connector can work as a 2 sized connector and the third slot just hand empty over the side? there are only two wires feeding to it, the middle of the 3 "bays" is empty.

[edit] to confirm, white wire = vcc and green would be led correct? white usually = current?[/edit]
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: quick power/reset/ mobo conection question

Thanks dude, figured it out.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: quick power/reset/ mobo conection question

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
so on the pwr LED which is the 3 sized connector from the case that I need to be two, I can try and pop that wire out of the third line and slip it in the second slot so that the 3 sized connector can work as a 2 sized connector and the third slot just hand empty over the side? there are only two wires feeding to it, the middle of the 3 "bays" is empty.

[edit] to confirm, white wire = vcc and green would be led correct? white usually = current?[/edit]
Absolutely correct. This is probaly you first ever "mod". I also use this mod to connect my 90's case to my newer mobo.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU Question!!! Help Quick Please AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-24-2007 12:36 PM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM
Question! MSI mobo... Jakigi New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 10:01 AM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.